Across the Centennial Bridge


If you have been following my earlier posts, you probably know that I was reprimanded by a law enforcement agent for taking picture on the structure of the bridge.  Apparently this is a restricted area for pedestrians, but I didn’t see any signs indicating this prohibition.

To avoid further clashes with authorities on the way back from Coronado, I took several shots of the bridge from the windshield of the taxi; meaning through the glass of the car.  I had my apprehensions that the pictures would come out fuzzy and out of focus.  I was wrong.  They won’t win any photographic award for quality, but they’re pretty decent to share with you guys.

The following pictures will take you from the beginning of the eastern part of the bridge to the end of the structure looking east.  These will be my last pictures of a refreshing journey into Panama’s beautiful countryside.  Next trip will be to the gorgeous island of Taboga on the entrance of the Panama Canal on the Pacific Side.

Snapshot of the Centennial Bridge taken through the windshield of a taxi on the way back from Coronado in Panama. There are no traces of the glass of the window nor any distracting reflections. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

That’s all folks; end of the trail.  It was a fun trip to the countryside after a prolonged absence of more than twenty-seven years.  How fast time flies.  Take care and Good Day.

4 thoughts on “Across the Centennial Bridge”

  1. Morning Omar,
    It has been 46 years since I first traveled that highway. At that time it was driving a military vehicle to Rio Hato. Most of the trips since then have been on the express bus to David.

    We must hire Maxi the next trip down, I have always driven over the bridge while Nena tried getting photos. The bridge is also beautiful at night with all its lighting.

  2. Morning Jim and Nena:

    Yes Sir, Maxi is ready to go. I haven’t seen the bridge at night. It must quite a view with all those powerful light aimed at the white cables.

    I enjoyed the trip to Coronado immensely. Now it’s time to visit Taboga, another historic and scenic place near the city.

    Warm Regards,

    Omar.-

  3. I took the bus from Albrook to David in November. In the past the bus would use the Bridge of the Americas. On this trip the driver used the Centennial Bridge.

  4. Hello OldTimer:

    I’ll bet you enjoyed the new view to David. This bridge is spectacular; in fact, both structures are, each one in its unique architecture design.

    Bye,

    Oa.-

Leave a comment