The Ghosted House of Cerro Campana

I traveled often to Aguadulce when I was working for a sugar mill owned by the Chiari family.  During the zafra, I stayed in Aguadulce between one month or more depending on the problems that emerged during the harvest season.  Usually the zafras were very smooth with minor occasional wrinkles.  Nothing so serious as to worry about the outcome of the summer agricultural activities of the sugar mill.

I remember vividly viewing an old house on the top of the hill which looked dark, mysterious, and spooky.  It was called “la casa embrujada” (haunted house) by the locals of Cerro Campana.  For years the house remained empty and threatening, as if taken out of one of Edgar Allan Poe’s poems.  Several years later, I left my job at the sugar mill and the ghost house disappeared from my radar screen.

The ghost came back during my last trip to Coronado in late December.  Only this time the original house had been demolished and replaced by a more modern design and structure.  The regal stone walls were still there, and the mysterious atmosphere still hovered over the real estate.  It was nice to see the old premises again after an interruption of over twenty-seven years.

I wonder if the ghost has moved to the renovated house and spook people during Halloween nights or evenings with full moon and howling wolves.  I don’t believe in ghosts, but I have an open mind and believe than under the sun, anything is possible.  Do you believe in ghosts?

Below is a picture of the ghost house of Cerro Campana.  Good Day. (Kindly click image to enlarge.)

Snapshot of the premises where allegedly there was once a spooky ghost house on the top of Cerro Campana in Panama. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

2 thoughts on “The Ghosted House of Cerro Campana”

  1. There are several houses in Galveston that are said to be haunted, and there’s one poor fellow who roams the prairie south of her with a lantern. Or so they say.
    Believe in ghosts? Well…. not in any way that really affects my life. On the other hand, there clearly are things that happen that have no easy explanation.

    A side note – there is a little town named Agua Dulce here in Texas, and one where the name has been translated, giving us the town of Sweetwater.

  2. Morning Linda:

    Haunted houses have been in American literature for a long time. There is even a friendly ghost loved by children of all ages called Casper. 🙂

    I’ll tell my wife about your town called Agua Dulce. I can see where the name comes from since the town is near the border with Mexico. FYI, my wife was born in the town of Aguadulce in Panama and it is written as one word.

    I like the translation; “Sweet Water”. Is it really sweet? Just kidding!



Leave a Reply

