Having Fun With my Apple iPad and Amazon Kindle Fire


As you probably know, I’m a technological freak.  I can’t help it; it’s in my genes.  Even though I run on a restricted budget, like many modern retirees are, I try to buy the latest gadget I can get my paws on.  If not, I’ll read about its features and pretend it’s mine lying somewhere in my home office.  They say old people don’t appreciate technology, well, I’m sorry to say that is not true across the board.  Yours Truly is at least one example.

Anyway, I’m a proud owner of a Retina Display Apple iPad which I enjoy immensely.  The things you can do with this baby are absolutely infinite.  Lately I’ve been listening to country music around the house; mostly on the back porch.  The sound is decent and old country music transport me to my youth in Changuinola, where the bananas grow.  Back then we had many American neighbors from the south who were passionate about this genre of music.

Singers like Patsy Cline, Willy Nelson, Tom T. Hall, Loretta Lynn, Hank Williams, The Judds, Kenny Rogers, Kris Kristofferson, Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton are my favorites, but the list of wonderful country singers can go on and on. Listening to their voices again, after a long period of silence, is a wonderful experience.  It’s amazing how music can make you travel instantly to your past and activate your previous life experiences.

Usually I listen to 181 FM Highway 181 HPR1:  Traditional Country.  At this moment, they’re playing, “Suspicious Minds” by Elvis Presley.  Who can forget the King of Rock and Roll?

Below are a couple of pictures of my Apple iPad and Amazon Kindle Fire playing music in our living room during a lazy Sunday afternoon.

Snapshot of my old Amazon Kindle Fire playing music from YouTube. This great gadget is also a splendid source of country music around the house. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of my dear Apple iPad playing great country music on a small living room table. It just can’t get any better than this. Ask the pretty little girl next to the gadget. 🙂 Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

The curtains came up and George Jones—The Grand Tour—is singing under the bright lights.  Yep, country music is my cup of tea.  Good Day.

3 thoughts on “Having Fun With my Apple iPad and Amazon Kindle Fire”

  1. We’re back in business! The email showed up, just as it should. And look what I’ve discovered – another country music fan. I don’t like it all, but I love a good bit, and have found some of the newer artists to be quite worthy, too.

    Do you know Old Crow Medicine Show? You might enjoy this offering from them. It’s not exactly County/Western, but my – it’s a good song.

  2. Hello Linda:

    I told you technology sometimes fails, but when it works it’s awesome. I’m glad you appreciate country music. I’m not too familiar with newer singers. Somehow I got stuck in the sixties, thus the names of the artists I mentioned in my post.

    Just finished viewing the YouTube video. Surprised to see how young the musicians were. Also noticed interesting musical instruments like a washing board, a banjo and a ukulele. Loved the song, Wagon Wheel, and the powerful imagery. Thank you.

    BTW, Old Crow Medicine Show is a weird name for a musical group. But who am I to judge?

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  3. It’s no news that country music has had “crossover” performers and
    I would offer Vikki Carr (born Florencia Bisenta de Casillas Martinez Cardona) and Freddy Fender (born Baldemar Garza Huerta) as examples from the old days.

    But, just recently, I stumbled across a crossover that I had not been aware of.

    It turns out that the melody for “She Wears My Ring” is La Golondrina.

    See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/She_Wears_My_Ring

Leave a comment