Modernization Fever in Panama


In my last blog post I mentioned that Panama was investing heavily in infrastructure before the current administrations turned over the reigns of government in July 2014.  After the elections.  The number of public work they have accomplished during their five-year period is historic in this small country.

Today I will post several pictures portraying the modernization of Via Eloy Alfaro and Via Brasil in Panama City, which has a total cost of almost $217 million.  The project consists of an overpass, a return circle, and a tunnel to ease the flow of traffic in this congested area of the city.

Several months ago I posted several pictures of the modernization of the Avenida de los Mártires which was formerly known as the Fourth of July Avenue when it was under the U.S. Administration in the Panama Canal Zone.  Both are extraordinary public works which makes our city look like a first world metropolis.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Another important project, is concealing the cables underground to improve the appearance of the city. These ubiquitous cables lazily hanging all over the city are absolutely horrible. Getting rid of them under the ground would be a great accomplishment. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
In this picture you can see two metro buses recently introduced to replace the obsolete fleet of Diablos Rojos. They are very comfortable and with air condition units, excellent for our tropical hot climate. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

More pictures are in the pipeline for the upcoming days.  Good Day.

6 thoughts on “Modernization Fever in Panama”

  1. In my part of the world, underground cables serve an important function, too. After hurricanes, areas with those underground cables generally have their power restored days or even weeks before others. Beauty and utility!

  2. Hello Linda:

    We had too many problems of cars smashing into the poles where the cables were installed; therefore, whole neighborhoods were powerless for hours. Underground cables should take care of that problem altogether.

    Aesthetics and functionality—I agree!

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  3. Hello OneCardShort:

    I’m really sorry that your trip to Panama was a disappointment to you and for the many problems you have encountered here. It breaks my heart to learn how terrible it has been to you here.

    I live in Panama City in the suburbs. We have no problems with water, electricity and other basic public services. I blog everyday without missing a single day due to power shortages.

    I have an account with Cable Onda which provides telephone, cable TV and cable Internet services. All three services are highly dependable and at reasonable rates. For example, I have a broadbank Internet connection of 9Mbps with a monthly cost of $36.95. I check my speed on a daily basis and the speed is consistent throughout the day.

    I tried sending a small donation through your link, but I don’t have a Paypal account. Please let me know if there is another option to send a donation.

    I pray to God you solve your problem ASAP. You sound like a courageous person with a strong determination. I’m sure you will make it safe to Israel.

    BTW, I was born and raised in Panama. At this moment I’m a retired Panamanian citizen who blogs as a hobby.

    Best of Luck,

    Omar.-

  4. I’m happy things are wonderful for you. I didn’t just visit, I have been living here for almost 2.5 years & I’ve never known a moment’s peace.

    What area do you live in?

    Pay Pal allows you to use your credit card just so you know. You don’t have to have a Pay Pal account. Not trying to push you, just educating you 🙂

    Gracias

  5. Morning OneCardShort:

    I live in Panama City in the suburbs. Thank you for the Pay Pal tip. I’ll see what I can do. Never used Pay Pal, it is not very popular in Panma. Most of the people use Credit Cards or Tarjeta Clave.

    Hope things get better for you. At the end of a desert the grass is always greener.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a comment