Quotes: “Give ’em Hell, Harry!”


“I don’t give them Hell, I just tell the truth about them and they think it’s Hell.” Harry Truman

The title comes from an incident that took place during the 1948 Presidential election campaign. Whilst in Harrisburg, Illinois, Truman delivered a speech attacking the Republicans. During the speech a supporter yelled out “Give ’em Hell, Harry!”. Truman replied, “I don’t give them Hell. I just tell the truth about them and they think it’s Hell.” Subsequently, “Give ’em Hell, Harry!” became a lifetime slogan for Truman supporters.

After the midterm elections, I’m sure many politicians are searching through their notes to find similar soundbites like the one quoted above to fire their guns at their opponents.  Some things just never change.  Good Day.

2 thoughts on “Quotes: “Give ’em Hell, Harry!””

Leave a comment