Saying Hello to Colonel Sanders


On our way back from El Rey supermarket at El Dorado, we decided to pay a visit to an old man who always sits on the same bench in front of a KFC outlet day in day out.  The elder man is none other than Harland “Colonel” Sanders, the founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken.

For those of you who are not familiar with Colonel Sanders, let me explain that this gentleman was an American entrepreneur who founded Kentucky Fried Chicken. His image is omnipresent in the chain’s advertising and packaging, and his name is sometimes used as a synonym for the KFC product or the restaurant itself.

Every time we drive by, he’s alone; all by himself, as if ostracized by society.  Whether it’s a sunny or rainy day, there’s nobody with him.  Not even cats, dogs or pigeons.  My wife and I decided to break the spell and drove over to his bench.  When we got close enough where he was sitting, we were in for a surprise.  By looking closely at the pictures, you’ll know what it is.

Below are several pictures of the famous Colonel Sanders with his trademark white clothing.  Here we go.

Photograph of live size figure of Colonel Sanders sitting in front of a KFC outlet in Panama City, Panama. There's something missing in this picture. Do you know what it is? Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Even at close distance, the figure of Colonel Sanders looks like a real live human being. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photograph of my wife Aura, posing for the camera with none other than the ubiquitous figure of Colonel Sanders of KFC himself. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

I don’t eat fried chicken available at our fast food restaurants due to its high salt content and excessive cooking oil.  Both are bad for my high blood pressure.  Instead, I prefer the unique recipe of my darling wife Aura.  Her fried chicken is finger licking good.  Yummity-yum-yum-yum. Good Day.

3 thoughts on “Saying Hello to Colonel Sanders”

  1. Omar:

    Personally I find Kentucky Fried Chicken absolutely disgusting. The only thing worse I’ve ever found is Pio-Pio.

    My favorite fried chicken is Popeyes spicy with a side of New Orleans red beans and rice. Yummmmmm.

    The last two years I lived in New Orleans I worked at a boat yard. There was a dog that lived at the yard and had been there through three changes of ownership. She’d always show up at lunch time and she ADORED Popeyes chicken. She would tolerate, as I do, Church’s chicken…another popular franchise. However, no matter how starving she was she absolutely REFUSED to eat KFC. Just because dogs can’t talk doesn’t mean they’re stupid.

    I’m sure you’re not aware that not long after Col. Sanders sold his company to Pepsico (Pepsi Cola which also owns the Taco Bell sortaMexican) he ate some KFC and said they had ruined it and he actually got into a law suit with them. Called it horrible stuff and, of course, they took offense.

    I was surprised to find Popeyes chicken at the food mall at Albrook Mall. Unfortunately there isn’t an outlet in David.

  2. Hi Richard:

    I agree with you regarding KFC’s low quality chicken. Haven’t tasted Popeyes, mainly because of the high content of salt. I stay away from this stuff as much as I can.

    There are several Popeyes outlets in Panama City. I know one at El Dorado close to where I live. When you come to PC I’ll treat you with a Popeye lunch. How about that?

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a comment