Are You Tired of Your TV Provider?


For too long television corporations have raked in millions of dollars from innocent customers who have been afraid of cutting the cord and seek alternative options to satisfy their entertainment needs.  At this time and age, you don’t need to spend $100 every month for mediocre channels that are never or seldom enjoyed.  Who can scan 100 or 200 hundred channels for a monthly fee of $100 or more?  Time is ripe to start looking for cheaper and higher-quality alternatives.  There is a lot of creativity and energy going on in the streaming arena.

Today I will tackle the issue of a home entertainment media player known as Kodi.  If you take the time to “Google” Kodi, you will be flooded with information about this generous software.  What is exactly Kodi?

kodi20player

Kodi can be defined as the “ultimate entertainment center”.  Kodi brings your media to life with endless features, a beautiful interface and ease of use.  In itself Kodi is available without any content.  It comes empty.  You will fill it up with what you like best, be it movies, sports, fashion, TV shows, photographs, music, general entertainment, realty shows, movies for kids, and so on and so forth.  And this is the best part, everything is free of charge.  It is 100 percent open source!

Yes, you read that right! Kodi is software that is built and run for the community, by the community.  So that saying really is correct… The best things in life are free!

Kodi is an open source community open to everyone, similar to Wikipedia  Just about anything is fair game.  Kodi has a giant catalog of community add-ons available for you to customize and tweak your perfect entertainment setup.  It will literally put your smart television set to shame.   Currently there are more than 985 official add-ons for Kodi and the number is growing even as we speak.

Kodi runs on just about anything.  Kodi runs on a generous range of devices and operating systems; (e.g., Windows, Android, OSX/IOS, Linux and Raspberry Pi).

This is how the Kodi community define themselves:

Kodi (formerly XBMC) is a free and open source media player application developed by the XBMC/Kodi Foundation, a non-profit technology consortium. Kodi is available for multiple operating-systems and hardware platforms, featuring a 10-foot user interface for use with televisions and remote controls. It allows users to play and view most videos, music, podcasts, and other digital media files from local and network storage media and the internet.

My experience with Kodi has been exciting, entertaining and educational.  Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine such a free software would be possible.  After noticing how much Kodi was mentioned on the Web, about six month ago I decided to download it and install it on my two Amazon’s Firestick TV devices.  One for my livingroom and the other one for my home-offfice TV.

A Fire TV Stick with Alexa Voice Remote (Streaming Media Player) can be had at Amazon for only $39.99.  Its main features are:

  • Storage:  8 GB internal
  • Memory:  1 GB
  • Output Resolution:  720p to 1080p
  • Audio Support:  Dolby audio, 5.1 surround, 2-channel stereo, and HDMI audio pass-through up to 7.1

I use Kodi’s latest version known as Krypton—v1.73—and works just fine on my device.  After researching zillions of Kodi builds, I decided to load it up with Jailbreak Amazon Fire TV and Firestick Using ES File Explorer (August 2017). Fastest Guide Update  The file is light; perfect for my humble device—approximately 150 MB.  Since I don’t own a lot of memory, size does matter.  The name of this highly-recommended build is One Alliance.

Everything I need, and use is there.  For example:  Movies, TV Shows, Reality Shows, Add-ons, and Comedy.  It also includes other categories such as System, Music, Photographs, Sports, Power, Favorites, Fitness, and of course, contents for Kids.

movies

kids

sports

My main entertainment category are movies; specially new movies—2016 and 2017.  Elysium (former Zen) and Covenant (former Exodus) are my favorite channels.  Both run very fast, display 1080p high resolution, and about 95 of the time their links work.  No buffering or frequent interruptions.  As a matter of fact, it is very similar to Netflix, albeit Netflix is not free of charge.  I pay $9.99 for a monthly subscription.  I love Netflix as well.

CNN International is another one of my favorite channels.  I can stream that too with flying colors.  I’m still exploring what I have, and let me tell you, the build is overwhelmingly huge, yet it is light enough to be handled by my modest device.

If you are sick and tired of receiving old B&W movies, past due TV shows, and other boring stuff on your TV, I strongly recommend that you hop over to Kodi’s web page and take a look on what they have to offer.  You might just enrich your entertainment time and make a better use of your hard-earned green backs.

Good Day!

2 thoughts on “Are You Tired of Your TV Provider?”

  1. Hola Omar,
    Kodi also plays well on my Samsung Galaxy Tab A tablet which means I can watch almost anywhere I can get Wifi. Since I don’t need a data plan, I don’t have to worry about paying extra. The tablet has a 10 inch screen, I can plug in earphones and watch without disturbing anyone around. It is like being the only one in the movie theater.
    Nena still watches her novelas on digital Over-The-Air broadcasts since we get numerous Spanish TV stations in DFW. She is a devout non-computer user so anything beyond a TV remote control does not interest her.

    1. Hola Jim y Nena:

      I own an Apple retina display tablet, but unfortunately, it doesn’t run Kodi, which is programmed for Android devices. It is highly likely this situation will change as Kodi reaches critical mass.

      I can understand Nena’s attitude towards computers. The same is true with my wife and her natural avoidance from technology. She watches Mexican telenovelas through our living room TV which is connected with Cable Onda with a small monthly subscription. Only $5.99 per month—the bare minimum. Omar is quite the opposite, he loves technology.

Leave a Reply

