Viceroy’s House – The Movie


viceroy

If you have time to sit down with a bowl of fresh popcorn, Kodi software, and a bunch of movies available; I suggest you search for “Viceroy’s House”.  It is one of the best motion pictures I’ve streamed in a long time.

It reminded me of the former splendor and spectacular movies of the Golden Age of Hollywood.  Movies like Cleopatra, Lawrence of Arabia, The Bridge Over River Kwai, Doctor Zhivago, Ben Hur and others that have slipped my mind.

Viceroy’s House is about the last days of British occupation of India in 1947, leading up to the end of British control over the country.  In the picture, Lord Mountbatten assumes the post of the last British Viceroy, charged with handling India back to its people, living upstairs at the house which was the home of British rulers, while 500 Hindu, Muslim and Sikh servants lived downstairs.  It was the end of an empre.  The birth of two nations—India and Pakistan.

I strongly recommend this brilliant work of visual art of the final days of the presence of British troops in India.

Good Day

2 thoughts on “Viceroy’s House – The Movie”

  1. Hola Omar,
    I will check this out. I taught students from Pakistan in the 1980’s. I was impressed with their loyalty to their nation.
    I recently saw “Spare Parts” with George Lopez, one of my favorites. One of those overcome all odds kind of story. I saw it on Prime or Netflix, can not remember which.
    jim

    1. Hola Jim y Nena:

      I have found real gems in Kodi, Netflix and Amazon Digital. Watching these sources is almost like going back to college. Today I plan to watch “War Machine” about Obama’s war policy regarding the last days of the war in Afghanistan. It was a messy situation, as well as in Irak.

Leave a Reply

