A Visit to an Ice Cream Parlor


Last Sunday my wife and I decided to visit an ice cream parlor near our house.  We were feeling the itch of being a kid again.  No matter what they say, there is a kid inside every adult.  As the aging process progresses, the kid inside continues to grow, until it finally emerges to the surface.  That is the natural cycle of life.  At 70, the kid is almost visible.  If you are bordering this age, you know what I mean.

The ice cream parlor’s name is “Gelarti”, famous in this town for delicious ice cream.  My wife ordered a strawberry ice cream and I ordered a vanilla ice cream sprayed with walnut crumbs on top.  They were absolutely de-li-cious! 

ice20cream

img_2705
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

“You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy ice cream, and they’re kind of the same thing.”Gelarti

img_2707
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
img_2706
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

As you can see, the venue was appropriately decorated.  Indeed, it was a sweet visit to this place.

Good Day!

6 thoughts on “A Visit to an Ice Cream Parlor”

  1. That’s a wonderful quotation, and it’s quite true, I think. Of course, I’m (perhaps too great) a fan of ice cream. I can’t even come up with a single “favorite” flavor, although mint chocolate chip would do if I were forced to make a choice.

  2. Hola Omar,
    I’m with Aura! I was “raiding” the fridge and found an unopened carton of strawberry ice cream and another of Neapolitan. I went for the strawberry.

    I don’t have a favorite flavor but I don’t like marshmallows in ice cream, that is about my only restriction. If forced to choose one flavor only, I would probably go with cookies n cream. It is like eating frozen cookie dough, only better!

    Buen provecho !

    1. Hola Jim y Nena:

      Strawberry ice cream is fine, but I will go for vanilla and nuts ice cream. Not too much, though. There are a lot of unwanted calories. But it’s okay once in a while. 🙂

  3. I really like homemade ice cream. Most people made ice cream back during WWII and before. Still, most people did not have refrigerators or even an icebox to keep blocks of ice in, but when the ice man came around offering to use his needle-pointed ice pick to cut off the amount of ice you needed for your ice box, he would give the kids any smaller chunks of ice that broke off. If you had enough sugar (it was rationed during The War) and fresh cream from the cow being milked in the morning, mothers would mix up some liquid with a dose of vanilla extract and pour it into the ice cream making tank with the crank handle on the side. After adding ice to the outside of the tank and after turning the crank handle until it would no longer turn, you knew you had a gallon of homemade ice cream. And, it was always delicious.

    1. I have a faint memory of homemade ice cream at home too, albeit we were not really fond of it. I thought it was too difficult and too long a process to make a small amount of ice cream. Instead, we bought “paletas”, (popsciles) at a nearby store. Due to the hight amount of calories off ice cream, we try to stay away from it, but now and then, it is a delicious dessert.

      Thank you Abe, for your thorough description of the way ice cream was made at home when refrigerators were not that common, and the war restrictions were on.

Leave a Reply

