HP


Usually when we these two letters, the first thing that comes to our minds in “horsepower“.  But this is not the case in today’s blog post.  Now we’re talking about Hewlett-Packard and a model that this reputable computer manufacturer produces.

If you have been following Lingua Franca, you already know, that I had a computer breakdown last week.  Had to use an Apple iPad as an emergency device to weather out the storm.

I usually buy my computer stuff from a local computer store called Yoytec.  This computer shop has good quality merchandise and excellent prices—very similar to those in the States.  I surfed their website and found a laptop very close to my needs.  It was an HP ProBook 450 G3 Notebook PC laptop.  Its main specifications are:

Intel Core i5, 620U at 2.3 GHz, 15.6″ LCD screen, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 128 GB SSD, DVD/RW drive, Webcam, Bluetooth, Windows Pro 10 in English, and a price tag of $549.  I thought it was a reasonable price for this piece of hardware.

I’m in the process of taming the beast.I know from past experiences that even new computers will fail.  It happened with my previous Sony Vaio laptop.

Below are several pictures of this HP laptop.  If you are inclined toward computers and technology you will enjoy the photos.

2934e83a-64fa-4bd2-8bf4-3c2bf39d872e
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
laptop3
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

In this picture, you can appreciate a VGA port, an HDMI port, and two USB ports.  All of them are essential to my needs.  I use my laptop mainly as a CPU for processing power.  I prefer an external monitor, a wireless keyboard, and a wireless mouse.

laptop5
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
laptop1
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
laptop2
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

Image of air cooling vents to keep the inside of the laptop cool.  With intensive use, the electronic components can get pretty hot which is not good for computers.  Especially when the inside gets dusty and obstructs the computer’s ventilation cooling system.  Crossing my fingers that this equipment will last at least five years.  Quality is not as good as it was when products were manufactured in the United States and not in China or in third-world countries.

Good Day!

Leave a Reply

