The King is Dead, Long Live The King


My Sony Vaio laptop was pronounced dead two days ago.  It was replaced with a HP laptop.  Thus the title of this blog post.

If you have been following Lingua Franca on a daily basis, you have surely noticed that no photographs were posted.  In order to keep my daily blog posts, I used my Apple iPad.  It was not the best tool to do the work, but it got the job done.  However, tried as I did, I just couldn’t upload photographs to WordPress.  That being the case, I was able to write about subjects that were important to me and that I had wanted to share for quite a while.  I’m glad I was able to that.  One was the connection between Lyndon B. Johnson and the Vietnam war, as well as the “Trial of the Century” regarding the murder case of O.J. Simpson.

Last night I tried to work with my new laptop and the SD cards of my cameras.  After struggling for several hours, I gave up and went to bed.  Since I’m using Windows 10 newest version 1607, there are several software changes which are not familiar to me.  Windows 10 version is not the Home Edition version which was more intuitive.  Instead, I’m using Windows 10 Professional version which is more oriented to business practices.  I’m now condemn to read the operation manual.  And that my dear readers, is a pain in the neck.

Sometime today, I will study how to work with photos, and if everything goes well, there should be photographs in tomorrow’s post.  You know how much I like this hobby.  Oh, by the way, my former wireless mouse also died so I had to buy a new one.  I prefer to use a wireless keyboard, a wireless mouse and a mirror monitor instead of using the same accessories of my laptop.  It is easier me to do my computer stuff.  The laptop is mainly used as a CPU.

In case you like computers, below are the main specs of my new HP laptop.

  • HP Pro Book 450 G3 laptop
  • Windows 10 Pro 64 bits in English
  • 15.6-inch display (1,366 x 768 HD resolution)
  • Intel Core i5 processor (6th generation), 6200U 2.3 GHz
  • SSD 128 GB hard disk drive
  • CD/RW optical drive
  • 2 x USB 3.0 and 2 x USB 2.0, a VGA port for the external monitor, and a HDMI port
  • 8GB of RAM DDR4
  • Card Reader:  SD, SDHC, SDXC
  • Logitec model M560 wireless mouse – Black

Laptop has a very sober and conservative look.  Black and gray in color.  Back-lit keyboard. Extremely fast.  Booting takes about five seconds.  Unbelievable!  Took several photos of the new electronic gear which should be posted tomorrow if I learn how to work with photographs this afternoon. Fingers crossed.

Good Day!

4 thoughts on “The King is Dead, Long Live The King”

  1. Oh, you do have my sympathy here. When my laptop died on my October trip, I ended up with an iPad, and one of my great frustrations was that I couldn’t upload photos from my camera. It turned out that it was theoretically possible, but only if I had various Apple products to help me along: cables and adapters and such. Since I couldn’t even get photos onto the thing, I didn’t even get to try uploading them to WordPress. Good luck to you!

  2. I know exactly about your frustrations. After working with the Sony Vaio, blogging with it and playing with photographs was second nature. Now I{m back to square one. All my bookmarks were lost and right now I{m in the process of installing them one by one.

    Oh, and the passwords are a pain. Since they are so complex. You know, more than eight digits, capital letters, numbers and a zillion other things, It{s a miracle finding them when you need them.

    Still struggling with the photo stuff. They are making computers so hard to work with. Computers were supposed to be as simple as a radio or a TV set. I was wrong. You have to be a rocket scientists just to turn the device on.

    Sorry for my ranting, but I’m not a happy blogger right now. Not until I can get my photographs working again. Bye! 😉

  3. Hola Omar,
    My old desktop of a decade passed last year and I bought another HP desktop preloaded with Win10 Home. It took me about 2 months of daily “fiddling” to get the look and feel of WinXP and to disconnect from all the update and privacy issues, and get most of my old favorite programs running. Several old programs simply won’t run under 64 bit O/S.
    I found an article on password managers that might help. I know Don Ray uses one and he is the expert to ask. I think he uses LastPass but check for best information. Every time technology gets in the way, technology provides an answer.
    http://www.consumerreports.org/digital-security/everything-you-need-to-know-about-password-managers/

    1. Hola Jim and Nena:

      That is exactly what is happening to me right now. One day after I bought the new HP laptop, Microsoft all by itself started downloading and installing an update on Windows 10. The new version was 1607 which is a bit different from previous version 1155. Now I have new stuff to re-learn. I like to use computers, but not to be an expert on them.

      Then I’m in the process of getting all my old bookmarks in order, exactly they way I had it in my old machine. It takes a lot of time, and all those different and complex passwords can drive you bananas. The new machine did not have Adobe Flash, so that had to be installed. The new Logitec wireless mouse is working well, thanks God. I just can’t get used to the rectangular pad on most if not all laptops, and feel uncomfortable with their tiny keyboards. I prefer to use a wireless mouse, a wireless keyboard and a large mirror monitor. The one I am presently using is a 23-inch LED KG monitor.

      For photography purposes, I’m planning on buying a color calibration device, just to make sure that colors are properly displayed. But that is not a priority right now.

      Tried YouTube last night and it worked fine. Volume and sound quality was better than expected. Love to stream training videos pertaining to photography.

      The link you provided looks interesting. Will take a look at it. I’m confused in having so many passwords which most of the time I can’t remember. It can get into your nerves, not being able to open a website because you forgot a password you placed several years back.

      Technology is great when it works. When it doesn’t, it sucks!

Leave a Reply

