Punctuation Apps


If you are one of those who like to keep close to your cellphone, and are concerned with the use of proper English punctuation rules, I have good news for you.

Navigating through the Word Wide Web, I stumbled into several punctuation apps. If this is your cup of tea, here they are, albeit some of them are not free.

  1. Oxford:  A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation – $10.99
  2. Punctuation & Capitalization – $1.99
  3. Grammar app – $0.99
  4. Mastering English Punctuation – $3.00
  5.  Punctuate – $1.99
  6. Fio Writer – $4.99
  7. Grammar Up – $4.90
  8. Good Styler – $0.99

There you have it. Have fun writing, who knows, there might be an Ernest Hemingway inside you waiting to be awaken.

Good Day!

9 thoughts on “Punctuation Apps”

  1. Hola Omar,
    I will give these a look. I wonder if they are all in agreement on punctuation?

    I recall seeing a billboard from my motorcycle riding days that was advertising the newest model Yamaha (my preferred brand). From a distance, one could see the new road racer model and below, the words, “PRETTY FAST”. Usually, these types of ads were about being absolutely the fastest so “pretty fast” seemed tame.

    As I rode closer, I could make out the real meaning. The sign actually was, “PRETTY. FAST.” Big difference.

  2. Hola Jim y Nena,

    I am so sorry, but my English is pretty bad. I have tried to understand the term “pret-ty. fast. But, no joy. Could expand on the meaning when time allows? Thank you. Now you know how rusty my English skills are. 😎

    1. I think your English is excellent!
      Here is a good list of definitions. “Pretty” is a very useful word, so many meanings.
      http://www.dictionary.com/browse/pretty
      From a distance, the message was an answer to “how fast?”. Pretty fast where pretty is the adverb.
      Closer in, the message was two descriptions of the race bike: Pretty and Fast.
      So, an adverb and an adjective use with just adding the periods. Those advertising folks are so clever.

      1. Now I get it. The insignificant period added strength to the ad. It not only pretty but also fast. Whereas pretty fast only emphasized its speed. Pretty clever trick to sell a product. 😎

  3. There’s another one called the “Oxford,” or “serial” comma. It can be important. Look at what its absence does in this pair of sentences:

    Without the comma: “This book is dedicated to my parents, Ayn Rand and God.” (Your parents are WHO?)

    With: “This book is dedicated to my parents, Ayn Rand, and God.” (Oh, OK.)

    You can get some pretty funny stuff without that comma. There are people on both sides of the debate, but there clearly are times when a list of things needs that extra comma.

    1. I have heard about this ever confusing sentence before. Now you understand my many frustrations trying to learn the language. But one is certain my friend, I won’t throw in the towel. I’m in for the long haul.

Leave a Reply

