College Graduation Pin


My college education was a rollercoaster ride to put in fair and square.  After graduation from highschool in 1965, I headed north to Costa Rica to sudy Economics.  The University of Panama was closed due to political riots and strikes.

After two years, I dropped out.  Economics was not my thing.  Instead of studying I was hired by Del Monte Corporation as Assistant to the Accounting Manager.  English gave me a lift for the job.  Salary was $2,000.00 a month, plus company car and travel allowances.  It was a fortune at that time.  I was only 22.  Almost everything was within my reach.  It was like having the Midas touch.

Returned to Panama twelve years later.  My dad wanted me home, plus the perspectives of a better future were in Panama.  As predicted by my dad, immediately got a job at Texaco working as a Supervisor of Financial Accounting.  I was then called “the number man” by my boss.

At age 40, out of the blue, I decided to go back to finish my education at the Universidad Latinoamericana de Ciencia y Tecnología (Latin American University of Science and Technology”.  Five years later I received my BS degree in Business Administration.  Kept on studying.  Two years later, received a college degree in Middle Education with emphasis in Business Administration.

Taught Business Administration at my Alma Mater for five years.  After retiring, received a diploma in Basic Photography from the Shaw Academy in Belfast, Ireland.  Today I will start another course at same education entity—Ultimate Photography Program.  The course stretches from November 22, 2016 to December 12, 2016.  It is most likely I will continue my education in Photography.

Below is the graduation pin earned at ULACIT.  You can clearly see the name of the university and its motto in Latin , “Sol Lucet Omnibus” (The Sun Shines Over Everybody).

67c45401-fb9c-41f8-8979-3f3b8af91bc6
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

Good Day!

2 thoughts on “College Graduation Pin”

  1. What an interesting educational “history,” and what a great remembrance that pin is. I like the motto. The sun of learning does shine over everyone — too bad that some seem determined to seek the shade!

  2. In Panama the rate of dropouts is increasing at alarming rates in all levels of education. Without education the country will lag behind. Jobs are being filled in by foreign workers from Central and South America. Teenagers who don’t study nor work are known as “Ninis” (Ni estudian ni trabajan).

Leave a Reply

