Taliban


Last week I entered the kitchen from my home office for a glass of water.  My wife and her nephew, Alcibiades were there.  The latter wore a strange cap and a towel covering his shoulders.  It was raining and the temperature was cold. For a brief moment, I had the impression he was a Taliban, probably because of his cap and towel.

I rushed to my office to fetch my P&S Canon PowerShot A720 IS camera and take a picture before he changed position.  At that time he was eating a fast lunch sitting on a small-sized stool.

Without even thinking about the light, exposure compensation, or even focus, I took the shot.  The results were similar to the old photographs of the early XIX century shot by Joseph Nicéphore Niépce, Henry Fox Talbot, Nadar or even Louis-Jacques-Mandé Daguerre.

Take a look.

taliban
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
f316de95-e6ae-46ef-bc31-cd5485ae9d70
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

Good Day!

2 thoughts on “Taliban”

  1. Alcibiades, which we have nicknamed “Maxi” has been with us since he was ten. Unfortunately dropped off of school and instead decided to drive a taxi. Started a family of his own with four kids, who we call “The Twisters”. For us he is like a son we naver had.

    So he drops frequently to make us company. My wife loves him dearly, can’t emphasize how much. You know how families are down south in Central and South America. They are very tight.

    That you for the comment about the portrait. It looks to me like an old photograph.

Leave a Reply

