Having Fun With Puns


vowels

“I bet jellyfish are sad that there are no peanut butter fish.”

You can’t gp wrong using English puns if you want to have fun and put a smile on your face.  I would say that English puns are the cherry on the top of a cake.

Inadvertedly I had placed the English language on the back burner for a long time.  I feel sorry for that.  Every single day, I spend about two to three hours studying English. It is such an dense linguistic discipline that I could spend many lives and still would not finish my reasearch of the language.

I will try to post more English-related content in future blog posts.  I hope you have enjoyed the ones I included in today’s post.

Good Day!

5 thoughts on “Having Fun With Puns”

  1. This is fun. As it happens, I’m working on a new post that has a pun in the title. It is great fun, and I’m glad to see you bringing us a bit of that fun this morning.

    1. As you already know, I have a permanent love-hate relationship with the English language since I was a kid in a banana plantation in the middle of nowhere.

      Today’s blog post was the love part. Aren’t puns great? 🙂

  2. Hola Omar,
    Puns are often called “groaners” by some folks to describe their reaction to hearing one.
    In actual fact, puns are included in some of our most noted literature. The line from Richard III may be the most famous, “Now is the winter of our discontent made glorious summer by this son of York”.

    I think the English language invites puns because as a collection of so many languages, it has so many opportunities for multiple meanings and so many homonyms to use. That also makes it one of the hardest languages to master. The American version is undoubtedly the worst form of English to conquer.

    1. Hola Jim y Nena:

      Thank you for reminding me of the ubiquitous quotation of Richard III. It is as well-known as the English language itself.

      Your description of English is the same one I have. We seem to be on the same linguistic page. Even though I started baby-walking with the language since I was six, in a banana plantation in a Hello-Goodby town called Changuninola, I haven’t been able to crack its code. It is so dense and complex, yet sometimes it is as clear as water in a pond. That’s the nature of the beast.

      However, in a gesture of persistent masoquism, I continue my daily intellectual struggle with the language. It goes on every single day; at least three hours a day. It’s like fighting with a punching bag, it never goes down, no matter how formidable the blow.

      I enjoy your comments!

Leave a Reply

