Grapes and Wine


In an effort to enhance my photography skills, I started a new project of setting up a minimalistic scene consisting in a cluster of red grapes, a bottle of Chilean wine, a wooden base, and a glass cup. I tied the grapes from a metal bar to give the impression they were floating in the air.

The session took about two-and-a-half hours, but it was extremely helpful in understanding composition, strobe lighting and light reflection.  During the next few days I will be posting shots of this project.

You will notice several reflection flaws on the glass cup.  I tried as much as I could to fix this problem, but no joy.  It is something I will have to keep studying more.  Light is a very complex photography component, and in my opinion, the main one.  After all, photography is all about drawing with light.

grapes-and-wine
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

Good Day!

2 thoughts on “Grapes and Wine”

  1. I faced a similar problem yesterday, when I was trying to photograph a painting that was hung near the ceiling, with lights from the room below it. I messed around a good bit, and finally managed to get some acceptable (though not good images). It does take a lot of experimentation and practice!

  2. It surely does. I read a couple of days ago, that even the clothes you are wearing will reflect on your subject. A photographer went to the length of putting on a diffused shower curtain to avoid the reflection of the light from his clothing. Yep, it is not an easy task. But it is absolutely fascinating!

    How is the fresh mountain air feeling?

Leave a Reply

