The Color Red


edited20carnations
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

“For millions of years flowers have been producing thorns. For millions of years sheep have been eating them all the same. And it’s not serious, trying to understand why flowers go to such trouble to produce thorns that are good for nothing? It’s not important, the war between the sheep and the flowers? It’s no more serious and more important than the numbers that fat red gentleman is adding up? Suppose I happen to know a unique flower, one that exists nowhere in the world except on my planet, one that a little sheep can wipe out in a single bite one morning, just like that, without even realizing what he’d doing – that isn’t important? If someone loves a flower of which just one example exists among all the millions and millions of stars, that’s enough to make him happy when he looks at the stars. He tells himself ‘My flower’s up there somewhere…’ But if the sheep eats the flower, then for him it’s as if, suddenly, all the stars went out. And that isn’t important?”Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

Good Day!

4 thoughts on “The Color Red”

    1. You must know by now, that red is my favorite color. It is so vibrant and full of energy. Red in a picture is something that the eye just can’t ignore.

      Now that you mention it, Linda. It’s amazing how time flows unnoticed through the fingers. We are around the corner from the arrival of the magical event of Christmas. Soon we will be listening to Christmas carols and all that surrounds that magic time of the year. 🙂

  1. I heard somewhere that God would be very unhappy if we walked by a flower and didn’t appreciate it. We both and many others appreciate the gift of flowers that God has given🙂 Have a Blesses day!

    1. Even though the charm and beauty of flowers is undeniable, many of us don’t “see” them. It happened to me when I was active working. My world was numbers, and flowers did not fit in my life. After retiring and adopting photography as a hobby, I am learning that not everything is math. There is so much beauty out there. The creation of our Lord is so ample and extraordinary. I’m am so glad I was able to open my eyes and “see” the world in all its splendor. Thus the pictures of flowers and sunrises in my blog.

Leave a Reply

