Back in Business As Usual


This morning about 10:00 a.m. I got my laptop back.  Total cost was $99.25.  This moderate amount covered the following:

  1. RAM memory upgrade from 4GB to 8GB.  Doubled the RAM memory of the machine.
  2. Thorough cleaning of the laptop inside and outside.  It is now sparkling like a gem.  It looks almost new.  I’m thrilled.
  3. Machine was diagnosed and found to be in excellent conditions.  It received a Clean Bill of Health.
  4. A broken hinge could not be fixed.  Sony has discontinued manufacturing computers, so there are no spare parts available.  I was expecting this.  On very rare occasions do I take my laptop out of my home office.  This will continue to be the case in the future.  I use it only as a central processor unit (CPU).  Monitor, mouse and keyboard are handled independently of the laptop.  Wireless connectivity is used to communicate with the laptop.  Works just fine.
  5. Windows 7 Home Edition was replaced with Windows 10.  After July 29, 2016, Microsoft would not allow you to upgrade to Windows 10 for free.  I have 30 days to play around with the new upgrade.  If I don’t like it, there is an option of returning back to Windows 7.  So far it looks great.  Caveat! Considering that it is a new software, there are several features that I can not use, because I don’t know where they are.  Have to study the program.  This is normal in any new application, specially if they are as large and complex as a computer operation system.

My laptop is a Sony Vaio, Model SVE14A15FLB, Serial No.54365811-0000791.  Purchased on July 7, 2012 for $899.97.  I received a flawed computer; a sour lemon from Sony’s factory in Japan..  Fought seller and two autorized Sony agents to get it fixed for about a year.  At the end of the day, the problem was a defective hard disk drive.

Lost the case, and had to pay $90.55 to have it repaired on October 29, 2013.  Guarantees are weak in this country where the consumer has almost no rights.  This is true to this very day.

Today I will start s savings project to purchase a back-up computer.  It is embarrasing to stop blogging because of a damaged computer.  If possible, my goal is to purchase an Apple iMac which can be had in Panama for about $1,200.00.  This means the project will be completed in about a year or so.  Fingers crossed.

Okay.  Now you guys know that I’m back in the blogging and photography business again.  Before I close the post, I would like to insert a photograph, just to keep the ritual of a daily blog post.  Thank you very much for your patience.

dawn20in20panama

This is a photograph of a dawn in Panama City.  Time:  6:15 a.m.  My first impression was that of a cloud trying to hold back the light emanating from the sun.  The clear blue sky above the cloud is very interesting.  Never seen anything like this before.  Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Good Day!

11 thoughts on “Back in Business As Usual”

  1. I have two pcs and one Mac. Frankly, I love widows 10 and think it is much like Mac’s OS. It took me a while to find things in 10 , but I have found all that I could not find at first.

    1. Having at least two computers is a wise decision, Abe. If one fails, the oher one takes over. I’ve learned my lessson. Regarding Windows 10, I’m still walking in the dark. Several things are different from Windows 7. For example, inserting a Camera SD card wasn’t working in the new Windows. After several hours later I discovered that you had to activate a feature for SD cards to transfer photographs to your hard disk. Same thing with the CD player. In Windows 7, it was already activated. That’s the way it should be. Make it “user friendly”.

      I must say it is very fast. My computer is practically flying. Love it!

  2. Really love the interesting beautiful photo, Omar. My daughter and my father inadvertently upgraded to Win 10 from version 8 and 7 respectively and have big problems with their laptops. Do you know how to go back to the earlier version or do you have to take into the shop? Daughters is completely useless and my father’s is running by having some issues. I bought a new laptop recently that had 10 on it and it is running fine. I’ve heard that people who upgrade are having issues because the computer didn’t have ver. 10 to begin with.

    1. Linda just told me that the weather phenomenon is “cloud shadow” which is quite common in the States; not so much in this country.

      I’ve read about real horror stories of people who upgraded from Windows 7 or 8 to Windows 10. The issues were so problematic that they decided to go back to Windows 7.

      Yes, I know how to return to Windows 7, but you are allowed to do that during a 30 day time frame, starting when you made the upgrade to Windows 7. Will send you a message on the procedure so your folks can try it and return to familiar grounds.

      I upgraded to Windows 10 last week, so so far have encountered minor issues. Have to study the software and dig deeper than I ever did with Windows 7. After learning how to do it, you’re on automatic pilot.

      Still testing the computer, but it seems to be working fine. In fact, with the upgrade in RAM memory, it feels a lot faster. It could be my imagination, though. Anyway, I’m happy to have my computer back. I know I’m a nerd, and can’t stay away from technology, even though I’m 69. Can’t help it. 🙂

    2. Here’s how to restore your relatives´computers from Windows 10 back to Windows 7:

      Click the “Start” iconlocated on the bottom left hand corner of your keyboard. It is an tiny icon with a white Windows. Then select “Settings” and click on this option. Click “Update and Security” option. Then click on the “Restore” link and finally click on the “Return to Windows 7” link. Follow the instruction of the Windows 7 restsoration. That should do the trick.

      This option of returning back to Windows 7 is valid for a period of one month after Windows 10 was upgraded. After this period has expired, the restoration won’t work. You would have to buy a Windows 7 software at your most convenient computer store.

      Best of luck! I plan to stay with Windows 10. So far, so good. 🙂

  3. I’m glad you’re back in business, and happy. I stuck with Win7 on my new machine, and so far, so good. This will tickle you: the only “problem” I had was that, occasionally, page would load multiple times. Sometimes, as many as 20 or 30 times. Eventually, I found the problem: operator error. My new keyboard is about an inch wider than the old one, and I was laying my arm on the “enter” key on the numeric key pad. Oh, my.

    That is indeed a cloud shadow in your photo. That big cumulus cloud is blocking the light, making the blue of the sky visible. Such things are quite common here.

  4. Maybe it’s a matter of perception, but it seems to me that Windows 10 is faster than Windows 7. Plus newer applications will be specially tailor made for Windows 10, so I might as well start learning the future language of computers.

    Still a lot of ground to cover considering that Microsoft is not a “user friendly” corporation. I will never understand why they don’t make things easy for the consumer. You have to spend hours trying to solve a problem that should be taken care of in the blink of an eye.

    With the memory upgrade from 4 to 8 Giga Bytes, the computer is performing a lot faster. I used it all afternoon yesterday and was very happy with the results. Let us see what happens today.

    Cloud shadow is a new term for me. Now I know what it is. Everyday you learn new stuff when you surf the web. Thank you for that interesting bit of infomation.

  5. Hola Omar,
    Thrilled to have you back on line! Amazing photo, I don’t ever remember seeing one while in Panama; the sunrises there are spectacular, regardless.

    I bought a new desktop a few months back. my HP a1020n with WinXP(!) was finally too tired to handle the task of all the new software. I bought another HP system with Win10 installed and it took me about 2 months to turn off all the privacy intrusion features. Microsoft has decided to get into the data mining business to catch up to Google, facebook, Amazon, etc. Once I got everything turned off, it really flies and I like it. I still have glitches in finding features but I am happy with the performance.
    jim

    1. Hola Jim,

      I’ve heard good and bad stories about Windows 10. In fact, some users have decided to restore their computers back to Windows 7—it was that bad.

      In my case, I find it okay in its primary features. There are some dark areas which I have to investigate and tweak parts of the software to reach a sweet spot where I feel comfortable using the software.

      For example, I couldn’t transfer photographs from my camera’s SD card to my laptop hard disk drive. I learned the hard way how to do it. Now I’m trying to get my SRS Labs Essential software to work. I have a gut feeling I lost this application when I upgdraded to Windows 10. Today I plan to fix this nuisance.

      In a nutshell, Windows 10 is a faster software with many goodies inside its belly. The problem is getting to know them. With time and dedication, they will be discovered. I’m positive about that.

Leave a Reply

