Upgrading The Gear


In order to continue my education in photography, I recently received an entry-level light set from a company headquartered in California called Limo Studio.  It is not by all means a professional heavy-duty equipment.  It was designed for people who are just starting to get familiar with lighting principles, so please consider it as an economy piece of equipment very convenient for portraitures or similar purposes.

I purchased it online from Amazon.com at a reasonable price of $51.89 FOB Miami.  Flying it to Panama was quite a bite on my pocket.  The total transportation costs, including insurance, was a whopping $55.78.  So I had to cough $107.67 to have this baby home.  But it was necessary, if I wanted to learn the ropes of properly lighting up a subject.

This is what came inside the box:

  1. Two (2) 86″ flash studio telescopic light stands
  2. One (1) 28″ table top light stand manufactured with premium aluminum alloy, black in color.
  3. Three (3) single head photo lighting fluorescent light holders made of cheap plastic..
  4. Three (3) digital full spectrum light bulbs, 45 watts CFL, 6500 Kelvin, daylight balanced pure white.  Lights can’t be dimmed.  You have to use an On/Off switch located at the top of the light holders.
  5. Two (2) 33″ nylon snow-white umbrellas to evenly reflect and spread light around the subject and to eliminate glare and spots.  The material was very thin easily to rip if not handled with great care while using them or moving around and outside your house.
  6. One (1) convenient black carry bag for umbrellas, light holders and table top light stand.
  7. One (1) well-packaged black bulb carry bag.

The components felt very light and cheaply manufactured in my hands.  All knobs, and parts were made of cheap plastic as well.  Lights were not as bright as I expected, but will get the job done after you position them carfully around your subject.  If you need brigher bulbs, there is always the option of purchasing them locally or online.  Some reviews I read claimed that the lights emitted a blueish-greenish color.  I did not experience this situation.

The cords were 89 inches long which is convenient in most cases.  However, I had problems getting them to our electric plug-ins.  I will have to buy extensions in the future to solve this problem.

Overall it is an excellent product considering its reasonable price.  If you are an amateur photographer, just getting your feet wet, this lighting set will do the trick without breaking the bank.

Below are several pictures of the entry-level lighting kit for portrait shots or other similar photography projects.

lights1
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
lights3
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
lights20bampw3
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
lights20bamph1
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
lights20bampw2
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

Stay tuned; soon I will post my first photographs using this modest lighting set.

Good Day!

 

6 thoughts on “Upgrading The Gear”

  1. You don’t stop surprising me, dear Omar, this kit looks very professional, I am sure it will help you to achieve your ambitious purposes! I am fully impressed! Looking forward to seeing the results!

  2. I’m not there yet. I mean at the professional level, albeit I wamt to be there. But it takes time. This lighting set is really an entry level piece of equipment, but it will do the trick. Plus the price was within my meager means. Retirees don’t have deep pockets. 🙂

    Thank you for your most kind comment. It pushes me forward, as you probably know.

  3. Yesterday took several shots using the new set of lights and diffusing white umbrellas. Results will be posted soon. Experience was good as expected. Hope you make your upgrade soon.

    1. Thank you Barbara. I appreciate all your support during several years. Soon I will post several pictures using the newly-acquired lighting set. I hope you enjoy them as well. Again, I appreciate very much your positive comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

