Meeting Andrew Jackson Up Close


Andrew Jackson (1767 – 1845) was an American statesman who served as the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837. He was born near the end of the colonial era, somewhere near the then-unmarked border between North and South Carolina, into a recently immigrated Scots-Irish farming family of relatively modest means.

During the American Revolutionary War, Jackson, whose family supported the revolutionary cause, acted as a courier. At age 13, he was captured and mistreated by his British captors. He later became a lawyer. He was also elected to Congressional office, first to the U.S. House of Representatives and twice to the U.S. Senate.

Andrew Jackson’s portrait was chosen by the U.S. Treasury to decorate the twenty-dollar bill.  The same is true with other outstanding Americans, like George Washington, Abraham Lincoln. Ulysses S. Grant, William McKingly, James Madison and others.

I used a twenty-dollar bill with the face of Andrew Jackson to shoot close-up and macro pictures with a Canon EFS 60mm macro lens.  This is what came out of my camera obscura.  Here we go.

006_4
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
001_10
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.
003_6
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

I’ve said many times before, that to be good at just about anything you have to practice, practice and practice some more.  “No pain, no gain”.  I want to become a photographer someday.  Meanwhile I practice as much as I can.

“Perseverance” is a good word to keep under your pillow when you go to bed each evening.

Good Day!

3 thoughts on “Meeting Andrew Jackson Up Close”

  1. These are fantastic close ups and macros! I would say you are most definitely a photographer and that you do not give yourself enough credit, dear Omar. If you like to take photos and study the art of photography, then you are a photographer in my book no matter the quality of photos. Enjoy this blessed Sunday!

  2. Thank you so much for those very kind words regarding my photogrphy skills. They really lift my spirit. I do like to take photographs and study the subject because I feel that there is still a long road ahead before I consider myself a photographer worth its salt.

    It is a vast field and requires plenty of practice and study. I know that so I keep my struggle trying to better myself day by day. Your words always provides with renewed energy to keep on. Thank you so much my dear Barbara.

Leave a Reply

