Madonna With Child


posing2_1
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

“When you photograph people in color, you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in black and white, you photograph their souls”Ted Grant

posing
Photograph by ©Omar Upegui R.

“We wonder why black and white photos capture our soul.  I think it’s cause without color, we aren’t drawn to the makeup, and the color of our eyes, or our hair, or how tan our skin is.  Black and white captures the innocence on ones face and the hurt they’ve gone through to feel vulnerability.  The glow we see come from the inside.  Brightening our eyes, our skin, and our smiles, it grabs the truth that liberates us.”Unkown

Good Day!

6 thoughts on “Madonna With Child”

  1. On the other hand, as Paul Simon puts it….

    “Kodachrome —
    They give us those nice bright colors
    They give us the greens of summers
    Makes you think all the world’s a sunny day
    I got a Nikon camera
    I love to take a photograph
    So mama don’t take my Kodachrome away

    If you took all the girls I knew
    When I was single
    And brought them all together for one night
    I know they’d never match
    My sweet imagination
    Everything looks worse in black and white”

    🙂

  2. In my opinion, it’s a matter of preference if you capture your subjects in full color or black and white. Usually I take my pictures in color. I like to see how light highlights the colors of the subject and its surroundings. It’s pleasing to my eye and of the vision I want to convey.

    On the other hand, I know bunch of photographers who will fight tooth and nail to shoot in monochrome. They are enamored with black, white, and the zillions tones of gray. There arguments and deep and solid.

    Portraits are very powerful when displayed in black and white. I’ll conclude by saying that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

    Which version of the pictures above is nearer to your heart it is up to you. You my dear friend is the judge, and in the final analysis, the viewer is always right. That is what makes art so interesting. 🙂

    Thank you for the video and lyrics of Paul Simon’s song, “Kodachrome”. Very kind of you, Linda.

  3. Back when I learned some photography, the earth was still cooling and most of what I shot was black and white. The contrast and sharpness can not be matched today even with all the high technology.

    I was showing some of these B/W photos to my VERY artistic 8 year old grand daughter and told her black and white was what we have. Her answer showed me just how artistic she is. “Not it’s not, abuelo, there are grays, too”! Her eye for detail at such a young age is amazing. And a little scary.
    jim

    1. We do not give credit to the deep knowledge of children. The more we incline to understand their world, the more we would learn how to think without any bias. Their thinking is original, creative and honest. I agree, with you that studying the mind of children can be scary or rewarding. Adults are not always rational. Take a look at the adult world in a total state of disarray.

      Yep, there are grays too. 🙂

  4. I love all these comments and of course the wonderful quote you posted, Omar. I enjoy the black and white portraits with the contrasts. But I do appreciate color and all it’s glory. Children are a wonderful teacher if only we just listen. They have no biases and see the world so clearly in a way that we adults have been clouded and vision that is askew. Have a blessed day, today, Omar!

Leave a Reply

