The Satisfaction of Reading a Good Book


s

glasses3
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Almost everybody has read at least one good book in his/her lifetime.  Others devour books, as soon as they hit the shelves.

I’m not an avid reader, but I do read books now and then.  Read plenty was I was a young man studying in college in Costa Rica.  Arrived there without a single book and left ten years later with several boxes containing about two-hundred books.  Over the years, they vanished.  Only one books is still with me.  It is the book in the picture.  The title of the book is “Historia de la Teoría Política” written by George H. Sabine.  In English, “History of Political Theory”.

Every five years, when wannabe politicians vist our house seeking for my vote, I test them on their knowledge of politics.  All of them without exception fail the test.  They are only after the fast buck to be vacuumed from the state.  I guess this is a universal practice by most if not all politicians. Sack the deep coffers of their countries.

Other two books I have savored over the years are:

  1. The Private and Public Life of Socrates by René Kraus
  2. Zorba The Greek by Nikos Kazantzakis

These three books have made a deep dent in my life.  They are without a doubt my favorite books.  Another book that deserves to be mentioned is “To Kill a Mockingbird” authored by Harper Lee.  I undestand young readers were so deeply touched, that they made the decision to become lawyers later on when they grew up.

Would you like to share your experience about your readings and the title of your favorite books?  Thank you.

Good Day!

4 thoughts on “The Satisfaction of Reading a Good Book”

  1. I’m afraid I’m not politically savvy at all so would have a hard time reading your favorite book. I have many, I guess, that I love but I really enjoyed Maya Angelou’s series of biographies starting with “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings”. There are 7 in total and each one is a delight to read.

    1. I enjoyed studying political science at an early age. Mainly because in our country politics has been a terrible example of publoic administratio. Then I had many questions about what was politics, and that’s when I happened into this books. It starts with the concept of politics by the Ancient Greeks all the way through to Mao Tse Tung in China.

      To me it’s almost mandatory to understand what is going on in this social field. For example, I’m taking a close look at American politics between the candidates of the Republican and Democratic Parties, (e.g. Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton).

      I am very comfortable with the poetry of Maya Angelou. It is food for the spirit. Very good choice Barbara, very good choice indeed.

Leave a Reply

