Product Photography


For many years I have enjoyed the perfect pictures in full color that are used to promote products and/or services in glossy-paged magazines.  The photographs are so well done, that they strongly pushes you to go ahead and buy whatever is marketed.  Apple is famous for using jaw-dropping photographs to promote their products.

How do they do it?  I don’t know.  However, the itch is there to discover their secrets for perfect product photographs. If possible.

Recently I purchased a Gillette razor because the cheap ones were too rough for my face which was permanently irritated.  My choice was the Gillette Mach 2.  It was a dramatic difference, and the skin irritation is almost gone.  My next step is to find a good shaving cream.  Some of the products I’ve researched on the Internet are:

  1. Dread Nought Shaving Cream
  2. Suavecito Premium Blends Shaving Cream (Sandalawood)
  3. Suavecito Premium Blend Eucalyptus & Tea Tree Shaving Cream
  4. Duke Cannon Superior Grade Shaving Cream

I’m sure there are many more options out there.

All of them had excellent pictures of the product on their web sites.  This led me to the idea of making my own promotional photographs of products, just for the fun of it.

This is what came out of the camera obscura.  Here we go.

shave2
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
003_5
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

004_4

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

011_2
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Experts in marketing say that 67 percent of consumers consider image quality “very important” when making a purchase online.

This makes sense. After all, an image of an online product is one of the only visual confirmations a user has before they pay. With brick-and-mortar, they can touch, try on and get an overall feel for the goods. Not so online—so your product photos need to do some extra leg work for both you and your potential customer. You’ll need to show the real details and quality of your products in pixels rather than person.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  In the world of photography, there is never a dull moment.

Good Day!

 

2 thoughts on “Product Photography”

  1. I had a friend who photographed cars in Europe for years — for print magazines. He used film, and cameras that I’d only read about until I met him: Leica, Hassleblad, that sort of thing. By the time digital came along, he was fairly well done with photography, although his wife wasn’t. But he liked to observe that the same factors that made for a good film photo also contributed to good digital photos: creative composition and competent use of the cameras.

    1. I never used a professional film camera. I recall using the amateur Kodak Instamatic camera which used a film inside a plastic container. All I had to do what shoot and move a screw for the next picture. When all the pictures were taken, I took the plastic container to a Kodak store for my prints. It was very easy.

      Nowadays it’s even simpler. There is no film and the cost of a digital picture is zero. You can take as many pictures as you can for free. Plus the manipulation of light on a cheap camera is almost limitless. With the proliferation of cheap cameras and smartphones, almost everybody can morph into a decent amateur photographer.

      Creative composition and competent use of cameras is very accurate. Roger that.

Leave a Reply

