Oil Paintings From Peru in Our Neighborhood


Yesterday, while returning from the supermarket I happened into an exhibition of Peruvian oil paintings on the sidewalk.  I stopped the car and stepped out to see what what it was all about.

Shortly after, a very polite gentleman approached me and mentioned that all the oil painings were on sale for that particular day only.  The next day, they would travel to another commercial site within the city.  Most of the paintings could be had for $400.00 per item.  If you didn’t have all the cash with you, they had an installment plan.  You could pay $40.00 per month until the painting was fully paid.

I didn’t have the money with me, plus I already had other money committments which were more important.  However, I left the place with a bitter-sweet taste in my mouth for not buying one of these gorgeous paintings.

Below are some pictures of the art event at the entrance of Residencial El Bosque where we live in Panama City, Panama.

oils4
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

This is Carlos, getting ready to collect the painting and place them in a nearby van.  The business day was over and it was rapidly getting dark.  Time to call it a day.

oils8
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

An installment sale was in progress.  The lady in the light blue blouse was buying this lovely painting with brightly-colored “guacamayas“.

oils2
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
oils9
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
oils
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
oils5
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
oils3
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
oils6
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
oils71
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

There is never a dull moment in the world of photography.

Good Day!

4 thoughts on “Oil Paintings From Peru in Our Neighborhood”

  1. I like the last ones best — the ones showing the women from the back, with their hair done in braids. The price seems a little high, but they are nicely framed, and I presume there’s at least a little room for haggling.

    1. I’m sure there is from some barganing room, but I was out of greenbacks, so I just concentrated on enjoying the paintings. You can feel drowning in color. They are so intense. It was a wonderful experience.

      To be candid with you, I loved them all. Never been to Peru. Have you?

    1. I was so sad that I couldn’t bring one home. But you know how it is; you can’t spend more than what you earn. It was a very rewarding day viewing these Peruvian oil paintings.

Leave a Reply

