Upgrading My Photography Gear


It’s time again to enhance my photograph tools, in an effort to take better pictures.  I know for a fact, that gear doesn’t necessarily mean that your pictures will jump out of the screen.  However, I feel that they will make your life easier.

In our case today, I recently received from Amazon, a DSLR and laptop backpack to use when I travel to the countryside to take pictures.  I’m afraid that irresposible handling of my suitcase during the bus trips, would break my lens and/or cameras.

Made a search on the Internet and found what I was looking for.  It is not big and cumbersome, but on the other hand it is not small either.  I can easily carry my three cameras, three lenses and a couple of miscellaneous accessorites.

As I usually do, I took some pictures of the new gear to share with my readers just in case somebody out there is thinking of buying a photography back pack.

Price?  It is not cheap, at least by my retiree standards.  Below is the price structure from the United States to Panama City, Panama.

  1. Amazon selling price:  $39.99
  2. Shipping and Handling in the U.S.:  $8.20
  3. Florida taxes:  $2.80
  4. Air freight Miami-Panama:  $36.94
  5. Total cost in Panama:  $87.93

Having cleared that up, here are some pictures of the backpack marketed directly by Amazon.  They call it “Amazon-Basics”:  Here we go.

bag2
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
bag3
Notice the brand, “Amazonbasics”.  After inspecting it inside out, I noticed the materials used were of high quality and the well-designed spaces to properly accomodate photography stuff.  Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
bag7
This is the backpack with my cameras, lenses and miscellaneous accessories.  In the picture you can see a DSLR Canon T2i camera, a  P&S Canon Powershot A720 IS camera and three Canon lenses.  The bottom-right empty pocket is available for a Fuji X-30 which was used to take these pictures.

Now I’m ready to travel to Penonomé to take pictures of our countryside.  I’ve tried to achieve this trip before, but somewhow the money was vacuumed by other unexpected disbursements.  Will see when we can finally depart from the rat-race and roaring crowd of Panama City.

Good Day!

6 thoughts on “Upgrading My Photography Gear”

    1. That’s the plan. However there is a big BUT, and that is the depth of our pockets. I’m estimating that a three-day trip to Penonomé , plus transportation and local taxis could be arount $300.00.

      At this moment, I don’t have the money.. Will have to wait some more, but that’s okay. I’m a patient man and my dream is alive and wagging its tail. My dream is to become a photographer. 🙂

      Thank you for all your comments and your continued support!

  1. Hi Omar,

    Reading this post reminded me that I wanted to search your blog for the information you posted about a store that sold and serviced Canon cameras in Panama. Unfortunately, I can’t figure out how to do a search on your blog with your new theme. Can you give me some idea of where the store is located? I’ll then try to bring everything in on one of my trips to visit my friend.

    I have a Canon DSLR T4i and the Panama climate is very rough on both the camera and the lenses. I took my camera back to Canada last year when I visited and had it cleaned but it needs doing again. I also have two lenses that need repair. I’m pretty sure it’s just a small wire that needs replacing in both of them.

    Looking forward to seeing pictures from Penenome. Are you going looking for birds? Hopefully, the fires haven’t devastated the wildlife too much around there. 🙂

    1. The name of the company is of course Canon Corp. It is located at Via Ricardo J. Alvaro, known as “Tumba Muerto”. The site is exactly besides Sitel Call Center and the entrance of Condado del Rey.

      If you have a smartphone with Google Maps, it will take you directly to the place. Another device I use to navigate through the city is a Garmin GPS. It works flawlessly.

      If you go the way of a taxi, they will know once you tell them the site is beside Sitel’s Call Center and the entrance to Condado del Rey. That should do it. Best of luck with your gear cleaning.

      1. Thanks Omar. I think I know the area that you’re talking about. Glad to know I don’t have to go traipsing around the business area to find it. 😊

Leave a Reply

