Streaming TV Contents On The Web


I’m making a pause of one day to introduce a new topic which is anxiously waiting for an opportunity to express itself.  Tomorrow I will continue with the Casco Viejo series as usual.

The topic is the growing trend of “cord-cutters” or “cord-nevers”  by numerous consumers in the United States and abroad.  For example,  First Dish Network, then Comcast, and now AT&T are the first players of this growing trend.

AT&T, the giant TV, internet, and mobile provider will launch three new TV services available to anyone in the US with an internet connection—no cable or satellite subscription required. They’re expected to arrive in late 2016.

AT&T will sell the services through DirecTV—the satellite TV company with 20 million subscribers that AT&T acquired in 2014. AT&T serves about 6 million cable TV customers of its own with its U-verse service. These new services, though, are aimed at Americans who have either already cut the cord or never paid for cable TV in the first place.

With an Internet connection you can stream just about anything you want to a tablet, cellphone, laptop, or TV stick without any strings attached.  This trend is spreading like a prairie fire.

I joined the bankwagon three days ago and purchased an Amazon FireTV Stick which had a price tag of $35.00.  You just simply plug it into a HDTV input of your television set and start streaming in minutes.  It is very simple to navigate and discover recent movies, TV shows, apps and games with the included remote control.

What’s in the box?:  An Amazon Fire TV stick, Amazon Fire TV remote, and two AAA batteries to activate the remote, power adapter with USB cable and HDMI extender cable.

To start streaming, all you need is a TV set with a HDTV input and high speed Internet connection with a decent Wi-Fi router.  Installation is a breeze and performance is flawless.  No buffering was experienced and Netflix movies were streamed in full HD.  Color and resolution were similar to those of my Apple TV box which I purchased for about $100.00.  This gadget is sold for only $35.00.  Quite a difference in price, isn’t it?  And the results are the same.

The device was also loaded with a streaming software called Kodi.  With Kodi you can stream movies sources such as:  Genesis, 1Channel, IceFilms, Velocity, Stats, NaviX, Showbox, Phoenix, Watch1080p, ToonMania and Exodus.

If you are a sports fan, Kodi will provide links to:  SportsDevil, Pro Sport, NBA Full Games and NBA On Demand and many others.  The list of Kodi’s content is mind boggling.

During the last three days that I’ve been playing with the gadget, I’m very satisfied with the way it performed.  Since I already have an Apple TV box in my home office TV set, the new gadget will be installed in the television set which we bought in December for Christmas.  My wife will be able to view her movies with Spanish sub-titles in the living room, and I can watch my movies in English in my studio.  The best of both worlds—it seems to me.

Below are a couple of images of the unpacked Fire TV Stick loaded with:  The Smithonian Channel, Twitch, Hulu Plus, Pandora, Showtime Anytime, Crackle, Amazon Instant Video, ESPN, Amazon Music, Disney, Netflix, Flixter and Tunein Radio.  Isn’t that great?  You bet.

fire1
Image of the Amazon Fire TV Stick depicting the plug-in device and the remote control.  A brief list of pre-installed software is also shown in the box.  Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
fire2
Image of a slim Quick Installation Guide to assist the user in installing the stick and the power cable.  It’s very simple and to the point.  Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
fire3
Photo of the Amazon Fire TV stick on the left and the remote control on the right inside the box.  Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
fire4
Photo of the HDMI extender cable on the left, the power adapter on the middle and the USB cable on the left.  This is all you will need to start streaming content from the Web. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

If you enjoy watching movies, videos, TV shows, or documentaries on your television set, this inexpensive electronic device will do the trick without breaking the bank.  I know.  Been there, done that.

Good Day!

3 thoughts on “Streaming TV Contents On The Web”

    1. Hello Ann:

      I’m still wet behind my ears with this new gadget, however I see a lot of potentional to polish up my English. The thing is, I don’t listen to people speak English in this country. Everybody speaks Spanish, and that is fine, but I’m not practicing my listening skills.

      Using this gadget, I can listen to English-speaking movies without any Spanish subtitles to help me out. That safety net is gone now. But my understanding of what is going is has diminished about 15 percent; sometimes 25 percent.

      I know that the longer I keep listening to English movies, the better my abilities to understand it increases. Probably you already know how fond I am of the English language. I don’t need it for any practical reasons. I just like it for the heck of it.

      Plus good movies or good documentaries will always increase my general knowlege of things. BTW, today I saw the latest Oscar-winnning motion picture—Spotlight. The plot is about the problem going on inside the Roman Catholic Church and its policy of covering up pedophile-oriented priests.

      It is a true story which happened in Boston several years ago. It hasn’t reached our local theaters yet. Great picture, let me tell you that.

      Okay so much for today. You have other things to do besides hearing odd stories from an old man.

      Take Care,

      Omar.-

      1. Thank you, Omar! Yeah, it’s so good that you can practice your English, you should definitely do it! Wish you good luck! Plus you can really watch many interesting programs and movies, you are on the right way! Take care and I am always happy to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

