Architecture Style in Panama City, Panama


Panama is a melting pot due to the presence of the Panama Canal, one of the most vital international waterways of the world.  You will find here, numerous cultures co-existing side by side.  Of course this multi-cultural escenario has influenced the discipline of architecture.  Take a look at the following building located on the Pedestrian Street in the old section of Panama City.

dscf0403
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
dscf0407
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
dscf0404
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Good Day!

13 thoughts on “Architecture Style in Panama City, Panama”

  1. I enjoy seeing Moorish influences in your architecture — brought in via Spain, I suppose. I like the way they trimmed each row of windows differently. It wouldn’t have been boring if they all were the same, but it wouldn’t have been as interesting.

    1. Morning Linda:

      We are on the same page, Linda. I can see the same Moorish influence in this edifice.

      What really caught my attention, was the intricate metalwork on the balconies. This is rarely seen in this country.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

    1. Morning Ana:

      As Linda commented, you can see the Moorish influence on this building. As you know, Spain was occupied by the Moors for several centuries. And Panama was a colony of Spain. So there’s the link between both cultures and Panama.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the architecture style. It’s very alluring for those interested in architecture styles.

      Best Regards,

      Omar.-

  2. Omar-

    Could you identify this building and give its history? Also, what’s up with the roof? Is that structure to protect the roof or is any open air terrace?

    1. I’m so sorry but I don’t know all of the requested information. I shot this pictures because I liked the architecture style. Other than that, I have no further information.

      Regarding the upper section of the building, I think it’s a terrace to relax and enjoy the cool evenings.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

    2. Could you give the address of that building? Maybe I can find something. I lived a long time in Panama (80’s) and do not recall seeing this building and I transited Santa Ana some.

      It looks like this building has been sub-divided up between residences and businesses. Can you confirm that?

      Thanks Omar. Great work that you do.

      1. This building is located on the Peatonal Street (former Central Avenue) in the old shell of Panama City. It is one block from the eastern entrance to the street from the Cinco de Mayo Plaza. It can’t be missed.

        Yes, the ground floor is for businesses and the upper floors are flats or apartments.

        Regards,

        Omar.-

  3. I agree with you Omar about the upper section. It is something that was likely added to the two story building as an afterthought. I’ve seen these terraces around the city used as a place for building tenants to enjoy the breezes or to hang laundry to dry. Likely it was constructed to keep the people living there from hanging their laundry over the balcony railings.

    I wouldn’t doubt that there is a murciélago or two up there resting during the day. 🙂

  4. Hello Indacampo:

    I’m glad that we are both on the same page. It did’nt occurred to me that there would be bats taking an afternoon siesta. I wouldn’t be surprised.

    The idea of hanging the clothes out to dry is a good one and avoids the bad habit of hanging clothes to dry on the balconies facing the main street.

    Thank you for clearing this matter further.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  5. Hola Omar,
    I have seen lots of those add-on roof structures on older buildings. The best answer I got was that the buildings had flat topped roofs and keeping the collected water out of the aging buildings during the monsoon rains was a big maintenance headache. The sloped lightweight roofs were added easily and are almost maintenance-free. The shade and added open space were a bonus for the tenants.

    1. Hola Jim y Nena:

      There it is, another great explanation for the reader who made the question.

      Thanks a bunch for further clearing the subject. From what I saw, this is indeed a very old building.

      They are not building structures like this one.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

Leave a Reply

