The Lilliputian Worlds of Macro Photography


In an effort to explore the small worlds which can not be seen with the naked eye, I saved to buy a decent macro lens.  Meanwhile, I was researching on the Internet about what could be done with a real macro lens; the ones that were able to to reach a magnification ratio of 1:1.

After a year, my final decision was to buy a Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM lens.  Initially I wanted a new lens, but it was out of my reach, so I settled for a used one.  However, when I received it last week and inspected it, I found out the lens had never been used.  It was purchased by mistake. The customer opened the box, saw it was the wrong lens and put it back in the box and decided to sell it through E-Bay.  That is were I found the deal—and took it.

Below are my first photographs using the macro capabilities of this lens.  The subject was a miniscule white flower in our back yard.  It was so small, you could barely see it—but surely the lens could.  Take a look at you can do with a good marco lens.

002
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
001_11
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
006_1
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
005_1
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
004_1
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

I’m very satisfied with the results of these images.  They say that “Practice makes perfection”, which means that I will have to keep on studying more and taking more pictures if I want to raise the quality of future photographs.  That is my goal.  Good Day.

8 thoughts on “The Lilliputian Worlds of Macro Photography”

    1. Buenos Días Ana: (Good Morning Ana)

      These are the pictures I mentioned to you a few days ago. I’m planning to buy a bouquet of assorted flowers with different bright colors and take pictures on my home office desk. With controlled light, the resulting effects could be quite nice.

      Thank you for your possitive comment, Ana.

      Hasta Luego, (Until Later)

      Omar.-

  1. Hi Linda:

    You already did. These pictures were shot with the new lens. I also posted two test pictures with the new lens when I described the new Canon macro lens.

    Next project is to photograph a bouquet of fresh flowers. The vase I used for these shots was broken by one of the Twisters. Got to find a new vase to place the flowers. That should be fun.

    Yes, my dear Linda. Photography is lots of fun, isn’t it?

    Bye,

    Omar.-

    1. Hello Barbara:

      These is my second test of the new macro lens. This time I went to the specific function of the glass: macro photographs.

      The flowers were justs weeds in our back patio, but tiny enough for a brief experiment. I was satisfied with the experiment and plan to keep on polishing the skill to an acceptable level.

      At this moment in time, macro photograhy has strongly attracted my attention. As you already know, I also love flowers. Perfect match!

      Take Care,

      Omar.-

    1. Hello Desley:

      I’m feeling so happy with my new macro lens, that asking for more would be a sin. Exploring the micro worlds is an exciting experience.

      Today I plan to photograph a wrist watch on top of a jet black shining surface to see the effects of reflection.

      Thank you for your comment and enjoy the rest of the day.

      Omar.-

Leave a Reply

