Understanding English


If you are a regular follower of Lingua Franca, you are already know how fond I am of the English language.  Even though I started learning English at the age of six, it has been a long and ardous struggle over the years.  It’s been like a love-hate relationship.  Some days I’m all for it, and there are other days when I want it out of my mind.  However, at the end of the day, I always come back for more.

One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to study English at least two or three hours a day.  It’s a good mental exercise which helps me a lot to write my blog posts, albeit most of the content is graphical as you all know.

Today is another post about learning English.  Here we go:

From Poetry 180 — The Library of Congress
by Steve Kowit

A noun’s a thing.  A verb’s the thing it does. An adjective is what describes the noun. In “The can of beets is filled with purple fuzz”

Of and with are prepositions. The’s an article, a can’s a noun, a noun’s a thing.  A verb’s the thing it does.

A can can roll—or not. What isn’t was or might be, might meaning not yet known. “Our can of beets is filled with purple fuzz”

Is is present tense. While words like our and us are pronouns—i.e. it is moldy, they are icky brown.  A noun’s a thing; a verb’s the thing it does.

Is is a helping verb. It helps because filled isn’t a full verb. Can’s what our own’s in “Our can of beets is filled with purple fuzz.”

See? There’s almost nothing to it.  Just memorize these rules…or write them down! A noun’s a thing, a verb’s the thing it does.  The can of beets is filled with purple fuzz.

That’s it.  Piece of cake, isn’t it?  🙂

Good Day!

4 thoughts on “Understanding English”

    1. Morning Barbara:

      That I can say. I’m a very persistent person. Much more than many people I know. When I promise to do something I do it no matter what. During my professional life, this has been a great asset.

      English for me is a linguistic treasure and I’ve promised to study it every day, at least two or three hours a day. So far I’ve been loyal to this commitment.

      Procrastination is not a good word. Go ahead and tear it up. Get a Spanish lesson and study it. Simple as that. No ifs, ands or buts. You only have to start, the rest comes along just like gravity. Good luck with your Spanish lessons.

      Saludos,

      Omar.-

  1. All I can say is, by the time I finished reading that little poem, I was so confused I wasn’t sure I could speak English! I did laugh at that line near the end: “There’s almost nothing to it.” Realism strikes!

  2. Morning Linda:

    I’m sure the author of the poem was having fun with the language. Obviously, it was written with a tongue-in-cheek attitude. At least it got a laugh from you.

    When the language gets tough, and it sometimes do, I have nothing else to do but laugh. “Moby Dick” was one of those tough times. It was a pain in the neck to read. You know what I mean.

    Before the year is over, there will more of this. You can bet the farm on it.

    Take Care,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

