El Mesón Del Prado


El Mesón del Prado is a Spanish restaurant near our home.  Usually we don’t go out to eat, but when we do, it is this place where we feel most comfortable.  El Mesón del Prado has been our sweet spot for more than three decades.

Last week my wife traveled to the countryside to visit her relatives.  She stayed in the city of Aguadulce for about a week.  I stayed home making sure nobody intruded and took away our stuff.  I played the role of the watchdog of the real estate.

I thought had enough food, but after a few days, everything was gone and the pantry was empty.  Since I’m a totally failed cook, I had to eat somewhere else; the options were a nearby McDonald’s restaurant, a gas station cafeteria or a comfortable traditional restaurant.  I opted for the latter.

On a Sunday morning I hopped into my car and landed on El Mesón del Prado.  It looked exactly the same as thirty years ago.  Only the waiters and other workers were different.  The food was great as well as the well-mannered personnel who bent themselves backwards to make us feel at home away from home.

My breakfast was scrambled-ham-and-eggs, toasts with garlic-butter, coffee with cream and fresh papaya.  Fortunately I had my cellphone with me, so I decided to take a few shots of the site to share it with you guys.  This is my breakfast visit to El Mesón del Prado on an early Sunday morning.  Here we go.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Kindly click images to enlarge and appreciate them better. Good Day!

6 thoughts on “El Mesón Del Prado”

  1. Morning Barbara:

    Yes, black and white pictures add a touch of yesterday to the subjects; in this case the restaurant. The shape and sturdiness of the furniture adds to this atmosphere touch of the past.

    We feel comfortable dining in this venue; it’s an “oldie” like both of us.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  2. What a lovely place. If I had that restaurant in my neighborhood, I have a feeling I’d show up from time to time. Your breakfast sounds good, too — especially the papaya.

    1. Morning Linda:

      The papaya was great and returning to this traditional restaurant was a treat. We would probably go back now that my wife has returned from her sojourn to the countryside. I loved the ambient of the venue with rugged furniture painted in dark brown paint. The lighting is soft and smooth.

      Yep my dear Linda, the place is indeed a lovely place to visit and enjoy a delicious meal with great company. A cup or two of French wine would add pizzaz to the culinary event.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

Leave a Reply

