The Weirdness of the English Language, No Kidding


Click image to expand it and read it better. Credit: Pinterest.com

Let’s face it, as the above image indicates, English is not for the faint of heart.  It takes guts to tackle the eccentricities of this very complex language.  If you are studying English as a second language, be prepared for a struggle of many years and try to keep your calmness.  You will need it; believe me.  Been there, done that.

During the next few days, I will put my photographic gear aside and concentrate on the “beauties” of English.  It will be worth the time invested in this linguistic adventure.  I’ve been stuying English since I was six in a remote banana plantation in the middle of nowhere called Changuinola.  I’m now 68, and I’m still struggling to understand the dark side of the language.  But I’m not a quitter, so the struggle continues.  It’s a love-hate relationship worthwile dedicating a few hours a day, every day of the year.

Below are some of the wackiness of English.  Be ready to scratch your head and grind your teeth.  Here we for an exciting rollercoaster ride.

Isn’t the English language amazing because, “Toe and So rhyme, yet To and So don’t.”  Beats me!

On this touchy subject Sarah Barness commented; “It’s no secret the English language was created by a bunch of 10-year-olds who thought it’d be funny to prank entire civilizations with grammar and spelling rules that defy all logic. Seriously, daughter and laughter should be pronounced the same.”

Obviously, the Internet is no stranger to this insanity, so The Huffington Post gathered some Tumblr and Reddit posts highlighting people’s comments on just how ridiculous the language can be, how a single comma can change everything, and how accepted typos have made it into the dictionary. Check them out below:

English Game:  Place the word “only” anywhere on the following sentence:  “She told him that she loved him.”

“It makes me really uncomfortable that the word Australia contains three A’s and all of them are pronounced differently”sadspaghetti

“Teenage girls saying, “I can’t even” is basically the same as old ladies saying, “Well I never”.—just-shower-thoughts

“Did you know? Type “O” Blood was actually meant to be “Type Zero” blood, due to the lack of glycoproteins in the red blood cells. It was misread and is now called Type “O” blood. I guess you could call it a typo.”studyable

If “womb” is pronounced “woom” and “tomb” is pronounced “toom”, shouldn’t “bomb” be pronounced “boom”?just-shower-thoughts

The Waiter:  “While you wait for your waiter, in that moment, do you not become a waiter?”tellthemwhoiwillbe

“I’m really pissed that palindrome isn’t palindrome backwards.  Ah, yes but emordnilap is a word.  An emordnilap is any word that when spelled backwards, produces another word.  Examples of emordnilaps pairs include:

  • desserts and stressed
  • drawer and reward
  • gateman and nametag
  • time and emit
  • laced and decal
  • regal and lager

And therefore “emordnilap palidrome” is an emordnilap palidrome which I think is pretty cool.  Do you?”egberts

“Why are shorts called shorts, but pants aren’t called longs?  She wears short shorts and I wear long longs.  (Makes a lot of sense to me.)  She’s cheer cheerer and I’m on the sit sits.”-svvords

“Language is so weird. Like some words sound so much more menacing than others. You probably would rather go to a cottage in the forest than a cabin in the woods, yet you could be talking about the same building that is perfectly neutrally toned and neither cute or creepy.”thedriftngtardis

“Cough, rough, though, and through.  Why don’t these words rhyme?  But for some God forsaken reason pony and bologna do.”-heros-of-the-bluebox

“Minute and minute shouldn’t be spelled the same.”egberts

“I’m not content with this content.”spooktree

“I object to that object.”egberts

“I need to read what I read again.”nymph-in-the-yellow-dress

Okay guys, I’m going to call it a day.  Too much confusion for one day for an old man.  Good Day!

Omar.-

5 thoughts on “The Weirdness of the English Language, No Kidding”

  1. “It’s no secret the English language was created by a bunch of 10-year-olds who thought it’d be funny to prank entire civilizations with grammar and spelling rules that defy all logic.”

    Probably, true, haha! I can imagine the difficulties and confusion non-English speakers have to learn the language.

    1. Morning Barbara:

      I’m one of those confused linguistic victims. It has been a rollercoaster ride making the language sink in. Reading, writing and speaking the language is a monumental task. However, I’m not quitting. Hanging in there the best I can. 🙂

      Bye,

      Omar.-

  2. I noticed that same line about the English language being created by a bunch of pranking ten year olds, and my response was somewhat different. A language isn’t created. It evolves. There are reasons for the spellings, pronunciations, word order, and grammatical structures that can give all of us (even native speakers!) fits.

    To make things worse, there’s the question of standard and non-standard English, British English vs. American vs. Australian English, and so on. Just last week, while I was working on my current post, I had to stop and think: is it “catalogue” or “catalog”? As it turns out, the first is the British spelling, and the second, American — although both are acceptable in both places. I opted for the American version, of course, since I was writing about America, but if I had been doing a piece about furnishing English country houses, I might have opted to go British all the way through.

    The good news is that both of us manage to make ourselves fairly well understood — and you, in two languages! I should do so well in Spanish!

  3. The different variations of English makes it even worse. Idioms change from Great Britain, the United States, Canada, or Australia. Spelling behaves the same confusing way.

    I always remember the diffence is spelling of the American “color” and the British “colour“. I see it all the time when I’m reading about photography on the Web.

    Why don’t we try some Spanish or a mix of both, “Spanglish“, and make the language even more confusing? 🙂

    Bye,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

