Pink Blossoms


Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Really these are not my snapshots.  They are images adhered to large metallic sheets surrounding an entire block where a construction site is underway.  These protection barriers were unusually large.  I would estimate they were about 25 feet wide by 15 feet tall.  They were in bright colors, very sharp and with interesting views of how the park would look like when it is finished.  Under the renovated park, City Hall is planning to to build a subterranean parking lot to accomodate numerous parking spaces for automobiles.  It is almost impossible to park your car when you visit downtown Panama City these days.

The images were so real, that I sat on the ground and shot three images of the protective walls using my recently purchased Samsung Galaxy S III cellphone.

So what you are really looking at, is a copy of a copy.  I hope you don’t mind my plagiarism, but I just couldn’t let this opportunity pass by without sharing it with you.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
8 thoughts on “Pink Blossoms”

  1. I follow a photographer in England who posted a series of these construction barriers that had been decorated to make them more visually appealing. I think it’s such a good idea, and I love that the idea has made its way to Panama.

    What I’m wondering is if you’ve ever seen trees like that. They look like a northern tree — redbuds, maybe — not something that would be found in Panama.

    1. Morning Linda,

      No Linda, we don’t have trees like these in Panama. I think these photographs were taken somewhere else.

      I thought they were cherry blossoms, like the ones they have in Washington D.C. or Japan, but I’m not sure.

      Anyway, the pictures are lovely, to say the least.

      Enjoy your Sunday. It’s nice and cool in Panama City with a gentle drizzle. We badly needed this kind of weather.

      Cheers,

      Omar.-

      1. The trees were the first thing that struck me when I saw the pictures. At first I thought they were a depiction of Guaycanes/Robles but I think you’re correct, they did make them look more like cherry blossoms. We are also enjoy some cooler weather and rain, finally. We’re hoping it stays for a while. 🙂

      2. Hello Indacampo:

        I can almost bet the farm that those are cherry blossoms and yes, they are lovely. Unfortunately we don’t have them in this part of the world.

        Today has been wonderful. Some drizzling in the morning and a persistent cool breeze in the afternoon. The temperature right now is 28 degrees Celsius.

        BTW, where are you located Inda?

        Regards,

        Omar.-

    1. Morning Barbara,

      I have a feeling these are cherry blossom trees, but I’m not sure. I’ve seen trees like these in Washington D.C. and Japan. But as I told Linda earlier, I could be wrong.

      Enjoy the rest of your weekend. 🙂

      Bye,

      Omar.-

Leave a Reply

