My First Pictures Using a Smartphone


If you have followed my blog, you already know that I recently bought a new smartphone—Samsung Galaxy S III Neo.  This new phone was replacing a Chinese Apple-cloned phone which had decided to work no more.  It served me relatively well for over six years.

I’m not a fan of cellphones. As a matter of fact, I stayed away from them until I had an emergency with my car, and I had no way of communicating with my insurance company.  Right there and then, I knew I had to buy a cellphone.  For me, more than a social device, it’s an emergency tool as far as I am concerned.

This is not a simple phone to use.  There are so many features that it requires you to dig deep into the owner’s manual to discover its arcane secrets.  For example, I found out that it has “Voice Activation”.  I can obtain information just by asking for it out loud.  For example, “When did the Titanic sank?”.  A metallic female voice will give you a summary of what happened and supply several links about the tragic event.  Very simple—almost magical.

I can also answer a call just by saying “Answer” without touching the phone.  Out comes the caller’s voice through the speakers.  Pretty cool!  I can even answer the phone when I’m driving and the phone is inside my pocket.  It just can’t get any better than that.

Another cools feature about Voice Activation, is that I can call any of my friends just by asking.  For example, “Call Aura”—that’s the name of my wife.  I can even make visual calls, but haven’t yet learned how to do that—but I promise you I’ll get there sooner or later.

Last week, on a cheerful Sunday morning, I went out on a photo-walk with my wife in search of flowers.  They were about four or six feet above the ground, so I carried a small aluminum stairs to reach them.  It was a bit windy up there, but I was able to take a close-up shot of red and golden Bougainvilleas.

The specs of the phone’s camera are:

  • Principal:  8 MP, 3264 x 2448 pixels, autofocus, flash LED
  • Characteristics:  Simultaneous HD video image recording, geo-tagging, Wi-Fi, smile/face detection, manual focus
  • Video:  1080p @30 fps
  • Secondary:  1.9 MP, 720p @30 fps

Taking a picture is easy as pie.  Just aim at your subject and say out loud one of the following words:  smile, shoot or cheese.  That will do the trick to trigger the shutter.

Below are my first historical pictures using my new smartphone.

These pictures were shot at the entrance of El Bosque, the neighborhood where we live in Panama City, Panama. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Transferring the pictures from the phone to my laptop is a simple process.  Just connect the device to my Sony Vaio laptop using the charging cord and the transfer takes place automatically.  There’s another way to do it using Bluetooth, but I’m having problems pairing both devices.  Somehow my laptop can not recognize the Samsung phone.  There must be an obscure button deep inside the phone that I must find to make it work.  But that’s okay—I have the patience of Job.

I just wish they could make things easier.  “Make it simple and they will come”.  Now I’m happy with my new camera activated by voice.  Isn’t that awesome?  You bet!  Good Day.

7 thoughts on “My First Pictures Using a Smartphone”

  1. It certainly is awesome how many features the newer phones carry! Virtually a computer. I’ve yet to get one but I see many people take lovely photos with them. You did a great job, Omar~

    1. Morning Barbara:

      I totally agree with you. These gadgets are not really smartphones. They are actually small portable computers which happen to have a phone feature.

      As time passes by, they will challenge computers and tablets more and more. The camera is excellent and it is my favorite feature. For $209.90 it’s a real bargain.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

  2. Welcome to the smart life Omar!
    There is no other piece of technology that does more things than a smart phone!
    Just to name a few:

    calculator
    calendar
    address book
    encyclopedia
    dictionary
    flash lite
    camera
    video’s
    music
    phone
    video calling
    maps/directions
    organizer
    memos
    news
    clock/timer
    compass
    altimeter
    email
    banking
    travel
    books
    mirror
    language translator

    Your life will be a lot easier.

    Cheers

    1. Hi Two Wanderers:

      You are so right. There are more than 100,000 apps for smartphones out there to choose from, and more are on the way. This train is moving full speed ahead and that makes me a very happy man. 🙂

      There’s a saying out there that “old dogs can’t learn new tricks”. This is not true at all. At 68, I’m still learning and always will until the man upstars calls me.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

  3. Nena and I are a bit concerned about you climbing up on “small aluminum steps” in a windy condition to shoot fotos. Please be careful, we don’t want to learn that the new smart fone was used to call the emergency number!

    Loved seeing the flowers!
    jim and nena

    1. Hola Jim and Nena:

      Thank you for your concern, but the height was quite minimal. Maybe three feet and my wife was holding the stairs. At my age can’t afford to take any considerable risks.

      Furthermore, it was a mild wind that kept the flowers moving and that would result in blurry pictures. Next time I’ll take a small wire with a hook at the end to stabilize the flowers.

      Bougainvillea flowers are so nice. I’ll correct that. All flowers are beautiful. 🙂

      Thank you for your kind comment.

      Best Regards,

      Omar.-

Leave a Reply

