Industrial Design of Bathrooms


While surfing the Web, I serendipitously happened into a professional wedding photographer from Colombia who practices his trade in Los Angeles California.  His name is Roberto Valenzuela.  Besides being a reknown photographer, he’s an educator, remote control helicopter pilot, and a dedicated Spanish classical guitar player.  His basic recommendation for upcoming photographers like myself, is practice, practice and more practice.

I was most fortunate in viewing a three-day workshop for free on the Internet dubbed, “Picture Perfect Lighting”.  I understood about sixty percent about what he said, but his method of teaching impacted me so much that I googled his name and found out he is the author of two books and a third one which is scheduled to hit the shelves sometime in February of next year.  The titles of his three book are:

  1. Picture Perfect Posing:  Practicing the Art of Posing for Photographers and Models (Voices that Matter)
  2. Picture Perfect Practice:  A Self-Training Guide to Mastering the Challenges of Taking World-Class Photographs
  3. Picture Perfect Lighting:  Mastering the Art of Craft of Light for Portraiture

I plan to buy the second book online at Amazon.com; the kindle version, which is cheaper and easier to get it down to Panama.  It takes less than a minute to download it into my Vaio laptop, Apple iPad or Kindle Fire tablet.

The Preface of this book reads as follows:

This book is about giving you the tools for scanning any scene and dissecting it for its photographic potential.  It will serve you as a training guide where you will learn how to turn ordinary objects into stunning photographic elements.

Through deliberate practices, you ill learn to be more resourceful with your surroundings and light conditions where most see just a white van parked on the street, you will se it as a light reflector.  Where people see an average office building, you will see it for its geometry, pattern, symmetry, and reflections, and you will know exactly how to incorporate those characteristics into your photographs.  Photography is so interesting to me because it seems like the creative potential is endless.

I have great respect for the art of photography because to me, it allows you to create visual magic.  But photography is like an untamed horse; if you don’t have a system, the patience , and the dedication required to understand it, it will run away from you and leave a complete mess behind.  But if tamed, it will reward you more than you could imagine.

Prepare to recognize photographic potential anywhere, react to it seamlessly, and execute your vision.

Embolden by Roberto Valenzuela’s words, I fetched my Birthday Camera and shot several pictures of our two bathrooms.  It is one of the most used rooms in our house, yet for most of us it is invisible.  Perhaps we are still drowsy while we wash our teeth or take a shower after sleeping for more than eight hours.

I apologize beforehand, if you consider these pictures too sensitive to your taste, but I was interested in depicting the industrial design of the toilet and the wash basin.  I found out, that even though they are 35 years old, their lines are very modern, similar to those of our state-of-the-art laptops, e-book readers or smartphones.

While taking these three pictures, the words of Roberto Valenzuela echoed in my mind.  “turn ordinary objects into stunning photographic elements.”  Here we go.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Good Day and keep in mind that in any discipline under the sun, “practice makes perfection”.

6 thoughts on “Industrial Design of Bathrooms”

  1. No need to apologize, Omar, we all have different points of view and see different things in photos. Those books sound very interesting. Have a great day!

    1. Morning Barbara,

      The reason why I apologized is that in other cultures people have a different perspective on things. For example, yesterday I wrote about a newspaper vending machine aimed at a target of lower-class workers.

      I wrote “lower class, blue-collar workers”. A reader said this phrase is not used in the United States and instead suggested “blue-collar worker” or “low- income worker”.

      When I studed Economics in College we categorized economic sectors as:

      1. Lower-Class workers
      2. Middle-Class workers
      3. Middle-Middle Class workers
      3. Upper Middle-Class workers
      4. Upper Class workers

      For me this was normal and well accepted. According to the reader, these expressions are not used in the United States. Since I don’t live in the States, I’m not familiar how English is spoken there, and could unintentionally use an improper word or phrase.

      Best Regards,

      Omar.-

      1. You are a very thoughtful and caring person, Omar. People should also realize that you are Panamanian so should understand you have a different perspective. I always love your posts, dear Omar~

  2. Hola Omar,
    Everyone worries about America losing its middle class. It has always been claimed that the existence of a middle class is what defined a country. More recently the middle class started subdividing into upper and lower middle class, further complicating the picture.

    The difference in the USA is class is an economic station, not one of having or not having a birthright to royality. I think the original reference was fine as I have had 40+ years of Panamanian culture classes from my bride. LOL
    jim

    1. Hola Jim and Nena,

      That was my original intention when I wrote about the readers of “La Crítica” being read by the lower economic class of Panamanians. I had no idea this is not the correct usage in the United States, so I made a prompt correction.

      I understand the discrimination of social and economic classes, was very strict in Great Britain and India (Hinduism) which is known as castes. It was very sad to see how the “Untouchables” were treated in India in the past.

      I’ll bet you know more about Panama and its traditions than myself having Nena by your side for more than 40 years. 🙂

      Bye,

      Omar.-

Leave a Reply

