Portraiture


Lately, I’ve been studying off-camera speedlite photography.  I started by purchasing a Chinese modest speedlite and two decent transceivers.  Then I enrolled in a 44-session training program from a Spanish web site dubbed Caja Meditarránea.  It was designed for intermediate to professional photographers, but overall I think I can fetch bits of valuable information here and there for my hobby.

My wife Aura, has been assisting me by acting as a guinea pig test model.  She has tons of patience and have performed flawlessly.  You will probably see her picture here quite often as I crawl along with my lighting training.  Yesterday we studied the property of color in light.  The experts call it “temperature of light”.  The color of light can be classified as cold or warm and expressed in Kelvin “K” units.  The unit that measures the temperature of color is Kelvin.  For example:

  1. 2,900 C – Red
  2. 3,200 C – Yellow
  3. 4,000 C – Light yellow
  4. 5,000 C – Ivory
  5. 5,500 C – White
  6. 6,000 C – Greenish
  7. 6,500 C – Blueish
  8. 7,300 C – Blue
  9. 9,000 C – Intense blue

There you have it, the warm and cold temperatures expressed in Kelvin units and its corresponding colors.  This was completely new to me.  I still don’t know how to use this information, but there’s time to learn in the near future.

Now back to my personal model.  Here are two test pictures of Aura using a Yongnuo YN-565 EX speedlite and a Canon DSLR EOS Rebel T2i camera.  More images are in the pipeline as I monitor my progress in this fascinating magic world of light and shadows.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Good Day and Happy Shooting!

2 thoughts on “Portraiture”

  1. Hello Barbara,

    Roger that, Barbara. I think Black & White images add drama to the subjects. As you can see I’m continuing my learning process in off-camera photography. Light and shadows are very interesting to capture.

    Best Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

