A New Dream In The Twilight Of My Life


A bit of history.  I got hooked up in photography after reading the blogs of Abraham “Abe” Lincoln and Don Ray.  I was fascinated how they were able to write wonderful stories complemented with gorgeous photographs.  Right then and there, I made up my mind to become a wannabe photographer and started saving some money to buy my first camera.  It turned out to be a P&S Canon PowerShot A720 IS.  I paid $249.00 to own it.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Many people have gotten into photography as a hobby because the cost of a DSLR camera is now more easily available, affordable and take high quality pictures.  The growing trend of mirrorless cameras which are very portable, affordable and powerful are gravitating more people to the hobby.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

The shutterbug can be quite contagious as one begins to master new techniques.   It is also a challenging hobby as well, since there is always room for improvement.  Been there, done that.

Social media such as Facebook, Instagram, Blogging, Flickr, PhotoBucket and a myriad of other photography software, made it simpler than ever to share your photographs with other.  Don’t forget the Internet which plays a critical role in digital photography.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Taking decent photographs (some of which may even be considered professional) has become easier than ever.  Words like an engagement photo shoot, or a postnup shoot, a debut shoot, a baby bump shoot, a new-born shoot,  toy photography shoot, or product photography are starting to become mainstream.  All of these so-called “shoots” are part of our everyday life.  This is a clear example that the demand and needs for the services of photographers have gradually increased during these past years.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

I don’t see myself involved in making money for taking pictures.  My intentions are elsewhere.  My passion is strolling around and taking pictures just for the fun of it.  At this stage in my life, I have seriously considered bringing my passion for photography to a new level and want to set up my own home studio.  This is my dream at this moment.  How long will it take?  I do not know.  But I do know that a journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step.

These pictures were shot with my beloved P&S Canon PowerShot A720 IS in macro mode and no tripod.  Good Day.

4 thoughts on “A New Dream In The Twilight Of My Life”

  1. There is something wonderful about pursuing photography just for itself, and not worrying if you are making money. I think you have more freedom to do what comes from your heart with no thought about what might “sell”.
    Lovely photos here, as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

