Upgrading The Gear


One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to continue improving my skills as an amateur photographer.  The other two were to study the English language at least three hours a day and to write one blog post every day.  So far, I have kept my word on all three.

My passion for photography increases as days pass by.  I’m daily looking for new photography videos on YouTube or photography articles on the Internet.  It’s amazing how broad this discipline is and the large number of people who have embraced photography as a hobby.

Today I’ll proudly share with you my latest acquisitions to improve the quality of my shots.  My next goal is to enhance the basic off-camera strobe basic setup.  To do that I purchased two Yongnuo wireless flash triggers, a diffuser cap for a speedlite and a Yongnuo TTL speedlite.  All purchases were made online to Amazon.com which is my usual supplier for merchandise from the States.

The purpose of the wireless flash triggers is to develop the ability to modify the ambient light to create more interesting exposures.  Ambient light is great, but you have no control over it.  It is was it is and you have to adjust your shots to the available light if you don’t have any other options.

Ambient light is the light that’s already there, (e.g., sunlight, lamplight, candlelight, windowlight, etc.). If the ambient light is inadequate, then that’s when speedlites and light modifiers come in handy.  Speedlites—also known as flashes—, light modifiers (snoots, barn doors, umbrellas, strip boxes, reflectors, grids, gobos, softboxes) and other photography accessories, can create perfect light allowing you to control any shooting situations.

Having restricted funds, I have to buy my stuff in small increments.  I started with a modest Chinese speedlite, two wireless flash triggers and a small plastic cap light diffuser.  Today I’ll share with you several pictures of the Yongnuo RF-603C II wireless flash triggers which had a price tag at Amazon.com of $30.25 FOB Miami, Florida.

The trademark of Yongnuo is the registered trademark of Shenzhen Yongnuo Photography Equipment Co., Ltd. headquartered in Hong Kong, China.

Inside the box I found the following items:

  • Two RF-603C II wireless flash triggers suitable for Canon cameras
  • One LS-2.5 shutter connecting cable
  • One user manual in English and Chinese (probably Mandarin)
Snapshot of the box containing two wireless flash triggers manufactured by the Shenzhen Yongnuo Photography Equipment Co., Ltd. in China. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of all the items included in the box as described earlier. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of two transceivers manufactured by Yongnuo to trigger cameras or flashes wirelessly. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the User Manual for the Yangnuo wireless flash triggers both in English and Chinese, presumed Mandarin. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of a LS-2.5 shutter connecting cable compatible with the following DSLR cameras: 60D, 350D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 650D and 700D. One end of the cable connect to the side of the trigger and the other end goes to the shutter release port of your DSLR camera. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

The wireless triggers use two AAA batteries, preferably rechargeable batteries to cut operating costs.  Inside the case, beneath the batteries you will find the channel setting switches.  Use the channel setting switch to set the transceivers to the same code, total 16 channels.

The wireless triggers can also be used as remote controls for your camera.  They are equipped with a shutter release button which is very convenient when you are taking pictures at a very slow shutter speed.

The transmission distance of the transceivers is up to 100 meters which is more than enough for my needs.  To add stability they have a hot shoe locking ring to avoid them sliding off the camera.  The maximum synchronization speed is 1/320 of a second.

Tomorrow I intend to include a blog post on the Yongnuo speedlite.  Also plan to go out on a photowalk next week to try this new wireless remote control system.  Fingers crossed.  Good Day.

6 thoughts on “Upgrading The Gear”

    1. Hi Desley:

      I’m buying the AAA batteries today, unpacking my Yongnuo speedlite and getting familiarized on how it works. After that, should go out to the field and see how the work together next week.

      For several months, this has been a well-researched project. Artificial light is as important as ambient light. The more I dig into photography, the more I want to become a photographer. I had no idea it was this fascinating.

      Soon you will see the off-camera lighting results. Fingers crossed. 🙂

      Best Regards,

      Omar.-

    1. Hello Trish:

      So do I. After viewing zillions of YouTube videos on strobe lighting, I can’t wait to start doing it myself. My next step is to buy a light stand, light modifiers and gels. The subject is very interesting and will take its time.

      Thank you for your comments. BTW, how is your new job?

      Omar.-

  1. Great move to try off camera lighting Omar and I am glad you went with wireless triggers that work in manual mode (it helps in the learning process) rather than using automatic mode. Correct me if I am wrong but these should work with the X30 also. I know the triggers I have (Pocket Wizard) are useable with any brand. The items I kept from my Nikon days were a pair of SB-700 and one SB-910 speedlights which I now trigger wirelessly from the Fuji’s. Cant wait to see some images you create with the new gear.

    1. Hi Joe:

      This is an exciting new experience as a “wannabe” photographer. I’m still glued to the manuals, albeit it’s difficult because the translation from Chinese to English is very poor. I’ll have to play it by ear, but it’s worth the try.

      The Yongnuo wireless flash triggers will work okay with the Fujifilm X-30 as well as the DSLR Canon EOS T2i cameras.

      The speedlite that I also purchased will either work in manual or TTL mode. Will try both methods and see what they have to offer. This flash is also from Yongnuo.

      My next step is to buy a Manfrotto 1051 speedlite stand, a Westcott 43″ optical white umbrella and several Honl color gels to complete my basic strobic setup. Later? Who knows?

      Thank you for your comments.

      Omar.-

Leave a Reply

