The Creation Of Art


“Go into the arts.  I’m not kidding.  The arts are not a way to make a living.  They are a very human way of making life more bearable.  Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake.  Sing in the shower.  Dance to the radio.  Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem.  Do it as well as you possibly can.  You will get an enormous reward.  You will have created something.”Kurt Vonnegut

For too many years I was a “number man”.  Worked with numbers as an auditor, accountant, bookkeeper, manager, and comptroller.  Always using the left hemisphere of my brain, while the other side slept.  Then I retired and had very little use for numbers, except to keep my frugal pension budget afloat.  Two bloggers, (e.g., Don Ray and Abe Lincoln) showed me the way of capturing brief moments of reality with a camera.  I took the tip and haven’t stopped since.  I fell for photography, hook, line and sink.

I’m not a Picasso, Ansel Adams or Vivian Maier, but almost every day I’m creating something.  Maybe not a masterpiece, but at least it’s something I’ve accomplished using my right brain.  That for me, my dear readers, means a lot; a whole lot.

This is what I do in an attempt to create something using the right side of my brain.  Here we go.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

“Do it as well as you possibly can.  You will get an enormous reward.  You will have created something.”  I’ll drink to that.  Good Day.

10 thoughts on “The Creation Of Art”

  1. I absolutely agree! Art should be a part of living. Mankind is creative when allowed to be and when we forget how or just plain ignore those artistic urges, we become sad inside. In my opinion 🙂 Love the last photo~ Enjoy your artistic Tuesday.

    1. I totally agree with your opinion. When we ignore art, we become hollow and sad inside. The spirit dies due to a lack of stimulus.

      Thank you for your encouraging comments.

      Omar.-

  2. Hola Omar,

    We don’t need another “Picasso, Ansel Adams or Vivian Maier”, we already have them. What we do need is more Omars! Keep doing what you are doing, your view of the world suits us just fine. Thanks for letting us share your visions.
    jim and nena
    fort worth

  3. Morning Jim and Nena,

    I feel very flattered with your words. I have made the committment of keep on taking photographs of Panama. It fills my leisure time and rewards me when I read comments like yours.

    Thank you Jim and Nena. You placed a smile on my face this early morning. 🙂

    Bye,

    Omar.-

  4. Hi Joe,

    Coming from you, an experienced photographer, I’ll take your comment as an honored compliment. Thank you.

    Working hard to learn the secrets of the trade. Not an easy job. I guess you already know that. However, it’s worth a try.

    Bye,

    Omar.-

  5. I’ve read that quotation before, and every time I read it, I smile. The pleasure of creation is undeniable. It may be something as simple as a good meal, but the dynamic is the same. It’s the act that’s as important as the final product.

    You might enjoy reading this post by another photographer I follow. He has quite a series of interesting posts on the creative process and our difficulties with it in his sidebar. I’ve found every one of them worthwhile — just as I find your daily posts enjoyable and worthwhile.

  6. My wife is always kidding me due to unusual subjects I photograph. I explain to her that everything is fair game. Beauty is not only about grand subjects. Rocks, shadows, running water, spoons, cups, meals, stones, calculators, radios….ad infinitum, should be within the reach of the lens.

    Art is not an absolute. Art is created in the mind of the viewer. That is how I perceive it. The name of Vivian Maier, the nanny-photographer, is always on the back of my mind when I go out to shoot some pictures.

    For sure I’ll take a look at your link. Linda, thank you so much for your words of commendation. They mean so much to me.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

