Bowling Alley Picturesque Exterior


Snapshot of the entrance to El Dorado’s bowling alley in Panama City, Panama. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

While researching the subject, I found out that there is a bowling alley below the White House. The White House Bowling Alley is a one-lane bowling alley in the basement of the White House under the Noth Portico.

Bowling lanes were first built in the ground floor of the West Wing as a birthday gift for President Truman in 1947 (in the location of the present-day Situation Room; Truman didn’t care for bowling himself, but allowed staff to start a league. These were moved to the Old Executive Office Building in 1955 to make way for a mimeograph room.

In 1969, President and Mrs. Nixon, both avid bowlers, had a new one-lane alley built (paid for by friends) in an underground workspace area below the driveway leading to the North Portico.

Source:  White House Bowling Alley

7 thoughts on “Bowling Alley Picturesque Exterior”

  1. My friends and I bowled fairly regularly in high school, but I haven’t been for years. Bowling alleys around here aren’t nearly so decorative on the outside.

    Here’s a funny note. “BOLO” is part of police lingo here. It stands for “Be on the Lookout” for this or that criminal.

  2. Morning Linda,

    I did some bowling while working for Texaco, but never was a big fan of the sport. Did it mainly to entertain myself and drink a couple of cold beers on Satudays. Haven’t played in years.

    Thanks for the BOLO information. It’s amazing how many new things you learn every single day from our readers. This is a new one for me.

    Cheers,

    Omar.-

  3. What a colorful bowling alley 🙂 I didn’t know that about there being a bowling alley at the White House, how interesting. I haven’t bowled for years, either. I used to bowl on a league with my mother in my early 20’s but the season is too darn long and you want to just quit but I made it through one season, haha. My parents are avid bowlers and to this day still bowl on leagues (they are in their 70’s).

Leave a Reply

