A Black Marble On A Red Sea


Snapshot of a black small marble placed on top of a bright red tissue paper. The contrast of both colors is very enticing. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to continue to expand my photographs skills and attitudes.  I’m glad to say I’m adhering to this committment.  Last week I downloaded Adobe Photoshop LightRoom 5.0 image processing software and also plan to go ahead and buy a book to learn how it works.  When I first opened LR it looked very intimidating, but I’m sure it can be tamed.  So that got started, and I’m happy that I took that first step.

My second step was to enroll in a twenty-five-hour seminar dubbed, Fundamentals of Photograph 2015 with professional photographer John Greengo.  It is one of the most comprehensive seminars I have found while surfing the Web in search of photography training.  The seminar consists of a wide choice of themes covered over a period of five days.  They start at 12.00 middday till 07:00 p.m. with brief breakups to catch some breath and rest the brain.

Even though mastering the technical side of photography is essential if you are serious about taking excellent pictures, it is also important to develop the characteristics of a photographer.  According to John Greengo, the following are the ten most important characteristics of a photographer:

  1. Patient
  2. Decisive
  3. Autonomous
  4. Meticulous
  5. Curious
  6. Innovative
  7. Persistent
  8. Observant
  9. Passionate
  10. Imaginative

I have some of these attributes, but lack others.  During the year I know that I will have to invest more time developing the weak spots and carry out my goal of becoming a decent photographer.  Meanwhile, I will spend the upcoming days following the steps of Good Photography:

  • Learn the fundamentals of photography
  • Learn how to operate my two cameras
  • Learn how to see like a photographer
  • Learn the field skills
  • Shoot, shoot, shoot, shoot…

That’s it guys.  There’s plenty of work ahead.  Good Day.

6 thoughts on “A Black Marble On A Red Sea”

  1. It’s interesting that the list of ten qualities for a good photographer could serve equally well for a good writer. The specific tasks to be learned differ, but in either case, the personal qualities (especially patience and persistence) are what allow the learning to take place.

  2. One of my main weakness is patience. When I’m out in the field I tend to take pictures without noticing small details. I have to slow down before shooting a picture. This is an area that needs more attention.

    I’m sure many, if not all of the mentioned characteristics equally apply to a good writer as you correctly pointed out.

    Bye,

    Omar.-

  3. Great contrasting colors, Omar. You doing so well on your photography goals and have so much lined up! I’ve been so distracted that haven’t had much time to shoot. Hopefully, I will get some good shots on our vacation. Keep having fun with your photography!

  4. Hi Barbara,

    Yes, I’m very serious about doing what I promised I would accomplish this year. It’s been only founteen days, and I’ve done a lot besides photography. All my day-to day routines have been disciplined and not a single wrinkle has been left out there untouched.

    At 68, life is running short, so every second counts. When I was in my twenties, I had no idea what time was. I thought I was going to live forever. Now the word “Today” means a lot, thus my dedication to complete my goals.

    I can’t wait to enjoy your pictures of Puerto Rico under a bright Caribbean sun.

    Enjoy the rest of the day,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

