New Year’s Resolutions


Today is January 1st, 2015—the first day of a brand-new year.  The slate is clean, ready for us to continue the story of our lives.  Many are the plans.  Some of them will be accomplished, others will vanish into the nothingness in less time than you can wink an eye.  It happens to us all many times, but stubbornly each year we make new promises.  That’s the nature of the beast.

Here I go with my resolutions for the infant year.  I have selected only a few, and firmly expect to carry out each one.  Let me expand.

I.  Photography

This is a very important activity in my life as a retiree with plenty of time and a tight wallet.  This situation usually comes with the territory.  My commitment in this area is to improve my skills as much as I can, specifically in the areas of close-up and macro photography, proper use of speedlites and accessories, photographs shot is RAW instead of JPEG, learning how to use Lightroom 5, and acquire a new mirrorless camera.  This should keep me busy during the year.

II.  Health

I’m 68.  As much as I want to retard the aging process, the body continues to travel South.  My visits to the doctor are every three months and medications are a necessity that I can’t neglect.  This year I plan to visit my dentist to start a teeth reconstruction program.  For too long I have placed this project in the back burner.  This year my commitment is to get it done.  No more excuses!

III.  English

Year 2015 will continue with learning the English language.  My pledge is to increase my blog posts about this fascinating subject.  Since I was six, I’ve had this love-hate relationship with English.  I will continue with this linguistic struggle as long as I can breathe.

IV.  Blogging

Lingua Franca has changed its face, as you have probably noticed.  There is a new main photograph of the site.  It is not new. It has been used before, but I like it and decided it was time to bring it back to the surface.  My commitment is to publish at least one post every day with different contents.  Photography will be strong in Lingua Franca, but I want to include English, technology and world news as well.

Last but not least, I wish to warmly thank the readers of Lingua Franca for taking part of their time to read or view what I have to offer every day.  The site has received 1,297,963 page hits since its birth and is being read in more than 203 countries around the world.  For me this is like living a miracle.  You are responsible for making this true.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank the following persons for their continued support during all these years.

  • Don Ray
  • Abe Lincoln
  • Shoreacres
  • Schuttzie
  • Jim and Nena
  • Oldsalt 1942
  • Desley Jane
  • John & Susan

The rest of the readers are anonymous.  I don’t know their names, but they exist because the number of page hits increase every day. That means that somebody out there is viewing the blog.  I wish I had the words to thank you properly, but as you know, I’m pretty clumsy with words.

Thank you very much for being here with me and wish you the very best during this upcoming year 2015.

I’ll end this post with the words of C.G. Jung, “You are what you do, not what you say you’ll do.”  Good Day.

10 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Greetings on 2015 New Year, Omar! These are wonderful resolutions you have posted and congratulations on all the hits on your blog. Your kind words go to my heart. I can genuinely see your compassion and passion for life and your hobbies, much respect! May all you resolutions come true, Bless!!

    Barbara

  2. Happy New Year Omar to you and your family.
    Wishing you a healthy and safe 2015.
    Your blog is great. The best part is we learn something new from you. You have a wonderful positive outlook!
    Cheers,

    1. Thank you for your generous words. It’s great to receive this support to continue doing what we do day in and day out. Best of everything to you all during the upcoming year.

      Blessings,

      Omar.-

  3. Hello Dear Barbara,

    Thank you so much for your kind and gentle words. That’s the fuel that keep me going.

    I’m very serious about doing everything I wrote. I strongly believe in “walking the walk” versus “talking the talk.”

    Blessings,

    Omar.-

  4. You’re a smart man, Omar. A few resolutions are more likely to be kept — or, as my own dad used to say, “Temper your resolutions with realism.”

    Apparently there’s a new phenomenon these days — people choose a word or a few words to shape their year. Patience always seems to make the list, along with courage, persistance: that sort of thing. I find that too amorphous. I do better with specific goals, like posting every six days, or writing three short stories. I still haven’t a list for 2015. I usually spend the first week of the year figuring out which way to go.

    I do know one: spending more time each day with my kitty. She’s not just getting old now, she is old, and she clearly is wanting more attention. It’s easier to ignore a cat than a dog, and sometimes I fear I ignore her. So, she’s the beneficiary of my new routine. What’s next? Who knows?

    Happy New Year!

  5. “Temper your resolutions with realism”-–I love these words. Wise man, your dad.

    You kitty is a lucky being having such a tender-hearted Master. With your loving care he might just live a lot longer.

    Regarding your question, What’s next? Who knows? Doris Day answered both questions quite well with her popular song, “Que Será, Será”, (Whatever Will Be, Will Be).

    Bye,

    Omar.-

  6. As your resolution to work on your English, so to must I work on my Spanish. I’ve been lazy and letting things slide. Not studying at all. Everybody tells me my Spanish is “Bastante” and in some ways it is. But it needs to be BETTER THAN THAT!

    New Years Eve, after the fireworks were over on our street two of my neighbors and I were standing around talking, Several times I couldn’t say what I wanted to. I tried to say, “I should know that.” (According to Google Translate “You DEBO saber lo.”

    So here’s MY language resolution… One new verb a week. Not many, and there are a lot i don’t need to learn looking at my book of 300 Spanish verbs. I mean, do I REALLY NEED to learn VOLAR-to fly? or TELEGRAFIAR-to telegraph or cable? I think I can safely pass on those, and really, if you learn how to fully conjugate -ar, -ir and -er verbs they’re all pretty much the same.

  7. Hi Richard:

    Resolutions are very good because they define a purpose. If you are serious about making them happen, you are in the right direction. I try my best to fully comply with my resolutions.

    Even as we speak, I have accomplished three resolutions in only three days. Monday morning is scheduled for another commitment.

    As you already know, English for me is an infatuation. Some days I really hate it and can’t stand it. Other days is a honeymoon, and so it goes.

    I’m presently reading, “Our Man in Havana” written by Graham Greene. Good reading for several reasons. Plan to write about it as soon as I finish it. Reading is an excellent tool to expand linguistic skills.

    Maybe you should read a Spanish book. I would recommend, “Cien Años de Soledad” written by Gabriel García Márquez. I’m sure your Spanish will be enhanced as well as your understanding of Latinamerican literature.

    Best of luck with your Spanish verbs,

    Hasta la vista, Ricardo,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

