Fallen Leaves


In this part of the world, we are in a parenthesis between two seasons, (e.g., rainy and dry season).  We still have the coolness of the rainy season, and we are being caressed by the soft breezes of the dry season.  It’s a wonderful weather transition.  I haven’t turned on my air condition unit for more than a month—it is not necessary.

As expected, the trees on our back yard are losing their leaves, yet most of the leaves on the trees are still dark green.  This is how our backyard looks like with a sparse carpet of brown leaves floating among patches of green and brown grass.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by©Omar Upegui R.

“To me, photography is the simultaneous recognition, in a fraction of a second, of the significance of an event.”—Henri Cartier-Bresson

Note:  Photographs taken with a DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2i, a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 prime lens, and a polarizing filter.  Handlheld.

6 thoughts on “Fallen Leaves”

  1. Good morning, Omar~ It seems that you have slight transitions between your seasons. We have such drastic changes as fall comes and changes the leaves to bright oranges, yellows and browns (which can be beautiful). Then of course, the freezing temperatures of winter (yuck). Spring is always a welcoming sight when we see the first flower bulbs start to peek out of the ground and the young green grass start to grow. I actually would love to have temperatures to be close to the same year round…one day 🙂

  2. Buenos Días Barbara,

    I was once in New York during the Autumn season. The landscapes were beyond words. Unfortunately I had no camera with me, so I lost those shots

    I wish I could go back and recover those missing photographs. You are most fortunate in living in a country with four seasons, just like the music of Vivaldi, “The Four Seasons”.

    Hasta Luego,

    Omar.-

    1. Yes, Autumn is quite beautiful with the changing of foliage. I think when we finally relocate to a warmer climate we will probably miss the seasons. Winter is rough here, though, and can be very dreary with no sun or very little for weeks on end. I will enjoy them while we can and count my blessings each day!

  3. I didn’t realize you had only two seasons down there Omar and it must be nice not to have to deal with snow. Its pretty wild that you have the fallen leaves as you show in these great images and yet still have green leaves on the trees.

    One of the most beautiful places I have been in the fall season was Sleepy Hollow, NY, a small upstate New York town along the Hudson River. Its the same Sleepy Hollow as in the Washington Irving book The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. From the quaint town to the estates of the very wealthy it was beautiful. Believe it or not the Sleepy Hollow cemetery was also gorgeous.

  4. I guess we are all familiar with Sleepy Hollow. I had no idea it was a real town until today. So much to learn, so little time.

    When I used to work for Texaco, I visited their headquarters in White Plains every year to plan our international marine sales. I always loved it there. Lots trees and excellent sceneries.

    Never saw snow in the States. The first time I saw snow was up in the Andes in South America in a place called Manizales, Colombia.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

