Hot Wheels For The Twisters


Years have gone by.  Way too many.  The Twisters are becoming teenagers and soon will be adults.   It’s amazing how times passes silently, like a shadow.  We try to keep our Twisters within our lives as much as we can, but we know, deep down in our hearts, that some day they will fly away and have their own nest.  That’s the nature of life.

But that is for tomorrow, and now is today.  They are kids now and we want to play with them before they morph into adults.  Following that rationale, we recently went shopping and purchased two pink bicycles for Karol and Paola.  All kids love to ride their bikes, and the Twisters are no exception.  In my imagination I can see them playing with their wheels at the Cinta Costera together with their peers.  I still remember vividly when I did exactly this same thing when I was their age.  Do you?

Below are the bicycles we will place under the Twisters’ Christmas tree this year.  Here we go.

Snapshot of Karol’s bicycle. This will be one of her Christmas presents this year. It now in our house. Her father will sneak it under the Christmas tree on Christmas Eve while the children are asleep. So we think. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
This is the snapshot of Paola smaller bike. The two small rear wheels are to help her while she learns to keep her balance on the bike. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Carpe Diem.  Life is too short.  What you are about to do, do it now while you can; tomorrow might be too late.  Good Day.

11 thoughts on “Hot Wheels For The Twisters”

  1. How really sweet! Two very lucky little girls are going to be so happy on Christmas morn. Life can be too short some feel but maybe it is just enough and it is up to us to make the most of each and every day. We can’t waste a moment but always live in the moment, NOW. I love your words! Blessings 🙂

  2. Hi There Barbara,

    Being a child is such a short period, that we would like to give them all they need to be just that—a child. Once you grow up, life becomes more complicated.

    I had a wonderful childhood, and I would like to pass on that experience to the Twisters as much as I can.

    Have a beautiful day, Barbara. BTW, how are your preparations to your trip to Puerto Rico?

    Best Regards,

    Omar.-

  3. A wonderful sentiment from your childhood and passing it on. I wish sometimes that my two daughters were youngsters again but we wouldn’t have the freedom to do more traveling as we do now.

    We are getting very excited! It is just around the corner come early Feb. I can’t wait for some warm sunshine and beautiful beaches to hang out on. I love to people watch and watch the surf, maybe do some stand up paddle boarding. I want to learn to surf one day 🙂 The Puerto Rican people are very warm and friendly but I need to learn spanish to be able to communicate better. My husband is learning but I seem to have a mental block or something, haha.

  4. Morning Barbara:

    I’m so glad that your trip to PR is just around the corner. Trading blizzards, freezing temperatures and gray skies for blue skies, warm temperatures and alluring tropical beaches is a win-win situation.

    Learning new languages, just like anything else, consist of practice, practice and more practice. For a start learn to basic words: gracias (thank you) and buenos días (good morning), that will get you started. The rest will come slowly.

    I started learning English when I was six, a trillion years ago, and I’m still learning the ropes. 🙂

    Bye,

    Omar.-

    1. I do know a little of the basics but it seems to be spoken so fast that I can’t comprehend. You have a wonderful command of the English language as is evident in your blog. Enjoy your Sunday!

  5. If you know the basics, the rest is training your ear to follow the flow of the language. It is true. We speak too fast. Even I have problems understanding my own peers, so don’t feel bad.

    Do you travel to Latin America often?

    Bye,

    Omar.-

    1. We used to go to Jamaica for something like 6 years in a row and then started to travel to Puerto Rico for the last 4-5 years. It is really easy to travel there as they have the same currency and being actually a commonwealth of the US. But I’d love to really come to Panama one day. We are searching for a retirement destination and hopefully, in the next couple of years make it our dream a reality.

      1. For your information, the U.S. dollar has legal circulation here in Panama since 1904. In more ways than one, we have a lifestyle very similar to the States. I think it’s because of the vicinity of the former Panama Canal Zone and American military bases which operated in this country for almost one hundred years.

        And of course, we speak Spanish here. You already have a head start with your basics. 🙂

        Bye,

        Omar.-

      2. Oh, yes, I discovered that and thought it would be a very good idea to explore and learn more about your beautiful country. There seem to be pockets of expats all over Panama. Not that I just want to pick up and move to somewhere there are Americans everywhere, haha. Quite the contrary 🙂

  6. Such wonderful gifts for the kids. I don’t remember the color of my first bike,but I remember the white woven basket on the front, and the decorations hanging down from the handlebars. My last bike was gold, and I rode that one all the way through high school, even after I learned to drive and was allowed to take the car.

    We were so free n those days. On summer days, we’d take off on our bikes, and the only rules were: be home for lunch, and be home for dinner. We never got into (much) trouble, and nothing awful ever happened. There were skinned knees, bent spokes, and the very occasional broken bone, but all of that was considered part of the natural order of things. We rubbed dirt on the scrapes, saw the doc for anything serious, and were expected to make our own bicycle repairs. We learned a good bit of independence and resilience while we were having fun.

  7. Hi Linda,

    You pretty much condensed the life of a kid and his or her bike while growing up. I guess most of us owned a bike and had all kind of experiences with it.

    My first bike was bright red and had two rear wheels to help me from falling. In less time and it takes to wink an eye, I could keep my balance and removed the rear wheels.

    After the first bike, I lost count of how many bicycles I had. My father also owned a black bicycle. I rode with him on Sundays for long distances. I feel nostalgic when I remember these regular riding weekend events.

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with bikes.

    Bye,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

