Testing a Vivitar Telephoto Lens


When I purchased my Canon digital DSLR camera, it came with a kit lens known as the Canon EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS .  I understand this lens has been discontinued by Canon.  For unknown reasons, after a short period of time, the lens was ruined due to fungus infection.  Repairing the device was more expensive than buying a new lens, so I dumpted it and bought a new one.

An esteemed blogger from Manchester, Trish,  suggested that I buy a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens also known as the “nifty fifty”.  It has proved to be an excellent lens; the only problem is that it is not a wide-angle nor a telephoto lens.  I wanted to have the ability to do both kinds of photography, so I started searching for options on the Web.

A photographer from South Africa came up with two interesting YouTube videos which fitted my needs like a glove—so I thought.  The lenses were the following:

  1. Wide Angle Lens:  0.43 professional wide-angle lens with macro manufactured by Vivitar
  2. Telephoto Lens:  2.2x professional telephoto lens manufactured by Vivitar

I authored a blog post on the purchase of the wide-angle lens here.  The device resulted in a waste of time and money.  I might as well have saved the money to buy a high-quality wide-angle lens, but you get what you pay for ($25.23 for both lenses).  I should have known better, when something is too good to be true, you’re heading in for trouble.  And so I slipped on the banana peeling.  Ouch!

Recently I opened the box of the 2.2 telephoto lens to test it, as I was terribly disappointed with the wide-angle lens with macro as you probably know.  I was hoping that this might be a better lens.  No joy.  The picture came out blurry and with heavy magenta chromatic aberration fringings.  I tried my best to post process the shots in an effort to get decent pictures, but it didn’t work.  Below are several pictures of the lens and the shots taken with it during a testing photo session.

I.  Vivitar 2.2 Professional Telephoto Lens

Snapshot of the Vivitar telephoto lens box. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

II.  Sample Images Taken with Vivitar’s 2.2 x Professional Telephoto Lens

This shot has been heavily post-processed, yet the quality is way below par. Notice the image distortion on the edges of the tree at the right hand side of the shot. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Take notice of the blurry tree on the left.  I was absolutely unable to take a sharp shot with this lens. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

I’m fully aware that what I paid for is negligible for a good pair of lenses and I deserved to get what I paid for.  A word of caution to those of you who are looking for inexpensive lens thinking you are making a great deal.  Caveat.  I would strongly recommend that you save your money until you have the resources to buy a lens manufactured by a reputable manufacturer. By all means stay away from cheap lenses like these which are a total waste of money and time.

At this moment, I have set my eyes on a Fujifilm X-30 which I should receive sometime in February.  If it meets my expectations, it’s highly probable that I will sell my Canon DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2i and my two Canon lenses as well.  They are too heavy, cumbersome to use and its gear is also very expensive.  All I want is to take decent pictures for my blog, not to become an expert in cameras.  I leave that to others more passionate about the technical side of photography—I prefer the creative side.  Good Day.

2 thoughts on “Testing a Vivitar Telephoto Lens”

  1. As usual, Omar, you have given great advice on your lenses and provided good reviews to those who wish to purchase and expand their photography. I will one day buy another camera so I can get better with my photos.

    Your older post talking about when you first got your lenses and the quote about macro photography is wonderful! Close up shots of the most mundane things can be exciting to discover the other “world”. Have a great day!

  2. Hi Barbara,

    I’m glad that my experience is serving others to avoid the same mistakes I made. I am really excited about close-up photography. There is so much to see in those Lilliputian worlds which you can not see with your naked eyes.

    If you need any help when buying another camera, I’ll be more than glad to provide whatever information you might need. There are so many options out there, that it’s really difficult to make a decision.

    I would like to see your photographs. Go ahead and keep them coming!

    Bye,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

