A Visit To A Forest Park In The Middle of Panama City


Last Sunday, November 22, 2014, my wife and I drove over to el Parque Forestal de Hato Pintado (Forest Park of Hato Pintado) to test a new wide-angle lens I had recently purchased from Amazon online.  The new lens was the  Vivitar 0.43x professional wide-angle lens with macro.  I was anxious to test this lens, since I badly needed a wide-angle lens to shoot landscapes and seascapes in Panama.  The “nifty-fifty” lens (Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II) was doing its job, but had the restriction of not being wide enough.

Sunday morning was a beautiful day full of light and cool temperatures.  Being a Sunday morning, the traffic was almost non-existent.  I drove over in less than ten minutes.  The place was empty except for maybe four of five early birds like my wife and yours truly.  The sun was showing its first lights which were delicately reflected by the greenery of the site.  I took my Manfrotto tripod with me as a spare tire, in case I needed it—to avoid camera shake.

Below are some of the pictures I shot at this natural lung in the middle of the neighborhood of Hato Pintado in Panama City, Panama.  Here we go.

Snapshot of a couple of early birds playing with their pets at the park last Sunday morning. This was a disappointing picture.  The lens was not sharp at all  and showed severe signs of chromatic aberrations.  Notice the magenta fringing on the upper right hand corner of this shot. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
I loved the bright touch of red in the midst of a vast sea of green in this picture.  Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
A lovely tropical plant inside the Forest Park of Hato Pintado delicately bathed by the early Sunday morning sun. The different shades of green are very pleasing to the eye. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

In general terms, the lens did not receive a passing grade.  I will keep it as an emergency lens, in case I need a wide-angle lens to complement a blog post in the future.  If I can get wide shots with the Fujifilm X-30 camera which I plan to acquire sometime in February 2015, then this lens will be definitely mothballed.  Good Day.

6 thoughts on “A Visit To A Forest Park In The Middle of Panama City”

  1. Morning Barbara:

    In my opinion, the Vivitar lens did not meet my expectations, but you get what you pay for. It’s a pity because the park is a very beautiful place as you saw in the shots.

    BTW, how is the weather in your neck of the woods? I understand the East Coast was covered with snow last night. More than 350,000 homes are without power this morning. Jack Frost is coming strong this year.

    Blessings,

    Omar.-

    1. Low 20’s here today but clear. Yes, I think there are a lot of delayed plane flights on the East Coast, sadly along with the power outages. So many trying to get to places for the Thanksgiving holiday. We go to Puerto Rico in February so hopefully, this early winter will be slowing down by then, haha. Probably not.

      They have what they call Black Friday for the day after Thanksgiving and people go crazy trying to shop for deals. It becomes mass hysteria. We don’t even give gifts anymore at Christmas because of this consumerism that has become rampant. I’ll stop ranting 🙂 Enjoy your beautiful paradise!

      Bless!

  2. Glad to know your area was not caught in the weather mess of the East Coast.

    Oh my, that trip to Puerto Rico sounds great. Puerto Rico is very much like Panama where I live. Same culture, food, weather, Caribbean easy life style. Getting away from the cold weather will be good for you and your family.

    Panama has also the Black Friday fever. People are already packing up for the stores to open up. Here the day starts at 06:00 a.m. Yep, consumerism is here to stay. We don’t plan on buying anything special this year. I’m saving for my Canon X-30 sometime in April, as you probably know.

    Thanks for the info,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

