Technology Nerd


Some people claim than old people can not learn new tricks.  They say that old people are unable to retain new information and are averse to change and technology.  I don’t believe that is necessarily so for everybody, and I’m speaking for myself.  I’m 67, will turn 68 this upcoming December.  At this age I’m still hungry and thirsty for more and more information.  Having Google Search, the Internet, a blog and a decent collection of laptops, Kindles, tablets, routers, scientific calculators, electronic books, GPSs, and cellphones is a blessing.

The first thing I do after I wake up early in the morning is go to my home office to check the news, Lingua Franca and e-mails.  I can do it with my eyes closed, since it’s a ritual wired up in my system.  When there’s a power outage, Omar goes crazy.  Having no Internet is a waterboard torture I can’t stand.  I have two main hobbies right now; blogging and photography.  However both are closely related to information; therefore I would correct the statement by saying I’m addicted to information.

Below is a picture of my computer desk cluttered with all sorts of technology stuff.  This is where I spend most of my days—tickling the keyboard and clicking the mouse.  “I think, therefore I am”.  Good Day.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

4 thoughts on “Technology Nerd”

  1. Morning Barbara,

    Thank you for making me feel young. In the great scheme of things, age can be defined as a mental state of being. You are as old as you think you are. Age has a lot to do with a mental attitude.

    Inside of me dwells a young spirit thirsty and hungry for information. That is the gasoline that keeps me going.

    Take Care,

    Omar.-

  2. Great post Omar 🙂 I am the same as you, my body grows older, but my mind stays young in search of constant learning and new technology gadgets. Us “old nerds” have to stick together 🙂

  3. Thank you for your warm words Joe. Sometimes I feel let down under the weight of years, but I try to bounce back. Technology has been for me a fountain of youth. Search of knowledge seems to pump my brain juices and make them flow.

    If you wish, I would like to be your friend, since we seem to share common interests.

    Best Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

