Air Bubbles Hovering Over Ice


I just can’t stop from viewing at macro pictures shot by professional photographers and trying to shoot my own.  Sometimes they are quite decent and sometimes they are only good for the waste basket.  But that’s the way we learn—practice, practice and more practice.  There’s a saying that I like, “Practice makes perfection” or “Success is 99 percent perspiration and one percent inspiration”.

In an effort to learn the ropes of the trade, I picked up a green leaf from my wife’s garden, placed it in a small transparent bowl, and filled it with water.  Then I accommodated it inside the freezer.  The goal was to take a close-up shot of the leaf semi-covered with a thin layer of ice.  The next morning I was ready with my minimalistic photography gear to take my immortal shots.  🙂

This is what came out of my two cameras, (e.g., the Canon DSLR EOS Rebel T2i and the Canon PowerShot A720 IS).  (Kindly click images to expand them.) Here we go.

I.  Pictures taken with a Canon DSLR T2i and a modest Vivitar macro lens

Notice the air bubbles on top of the layer of ice on the green leaf. I was surprised that the lens could pick up these minuscule air bubbles. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
To take this shot my wife held a diffused light ring above the leaf creating an effect of small glittering diamonds floating on the thin layer of ice. I liked the exposure. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

II.  Shots taken with a compact P&S Canon PowerShot A720 IS

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
I was amazed at the sharpness of the shot taken with such a small inexpensive compact camera. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
This is when I had just fetched the frozen bowl from the fridge’s freezer. Take notice of the frozen water with a crack and a thin layer of ice on the leaf. Then the ice slowly started to melt while I was taking the previous shots. It was a fun experience. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

We don’t have ice nor snow in Panama, so I had to create some to take wintertime shots.  Isn’t photography great?  You bet!  Good Day.

4 thoughts on “Air Bubbles Hovering Over Ice”

  1. Morning Barbara,

    I’ve acquired my Canon PowerShot A720 IS about six years ago. Taken approximately 3,000 pictures with it. It is an excellent camera. I love it!

    I would love to see your pictorial experiments with your compact camera. How’s the weather in Illinois?

    Enjoy the rest of your day and many blessings to you as well.

    Omar.-

    1. Good morning, you are an early riser like my husband and I 🙂 Bed early, up early. Just finished our workout. Today is not as cold at 21 degrees this morning. We’ve been unusually cold this year and hopefully, it won’t be this way the rest of winter, burrrr! I’ll try some experiments today my my trusty canon powershot. I’ve had it for many years now.

  2. Hi There Barbara,

    Yep, we are regular early birds. Usually up and ready to go about 5:30 a.m. every day, even Sundays. It’s just a habit we’ve had for many years. It’s nice and cool in the early morning and very quiet.

    Also go to bed early too—9:00 a.m. Remember the saying: “Early to bed, early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise”? Just kidding. 🙂

    Glad the weather is getting warmer for you guys. I just can’t stand cold weather. It literally makes me sick. Give me sunshine anytime.

    Enjoy your shooting spree.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

