Testing a New Macro Lens For My Canon DSLR Camera


Recently I received a replacement macro lens, since the original one Vivitar (0.43 professional wide-angle lens with macro) was flawed—the macro lens could not be unscrewed from the wide-angle lens.  Amazon did a wonderful job in taking care of the problem and sending a replacement unit.

As soon as I received it, I ensured it was in good shape.  It was.  The next step was to take pictures and analyze the results.  The test was to take a close-up shot of a hard disk drive.  I took one shot with my P&S Canon PowerShot A720 IS and another with the aforementioned lens.  The idea was to compare the quality of both images and determine the value of the new lens.

Below are two shots of the electronic spare part.  It’s easy to tell which camera came in first, and which came in last.  The comparison is eloquent, to say the least.  I plan to keep on testing the lens and see if the results are the same as this one.  After all, you get what you pay for.

Snapshot of a close-up picture of a section of a hard disk taken with a Vivitar macro lens screwed to a DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2i camera and a Canon EF 50mm II f/1.8 fixed lens. The camera was hand held. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of same electronic part taken with a Canon P&S PowerShot A720 IS. The difference between the first picture and this one is dramatic. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

No matter what they say, cheap point-and-shoot cameras are great devices.  They are often downplayed by some photographers, just because the DSLR cameras are more expensive and more sophisticated.  But at the end of the day, they are not always as great as they say.  These pictures speak highly of the P&S cameras.

Later in the morning will shoot some flowers from my wife’s garden with both cameras and compare the results.  Let’s see what happens, although I have a gut feeling which one will be the winner.   🙂  Good Day.

5 thoughts on “Testing a New Macro Lens For My Canon DSLR Camera”

  1. Hi Barbara:

    Yep, I was under the same impression, but not any longer. Cheap products can provide excellent results and will give the big guys a run for their money. However, there are of course exceptions.

    As you probably know, I’m saving for a mirrorless camera; the Fujifilm X-30. If this puppy is as good as the professional photographers say it is, then I would consider selling my DSLR camera. I like things simple and down-to-earth. I want to take pictures—good pictures—not an expert in the inner world of photography.

    That’s why I bought an automatic car. I don’t care how a car works, my concern is that when I turn on the start key, the motor roars and after shifting gear to D, the car moves forward. That’s it; plain and simple.

    Tomorrow I will post several pictures comparing my two cameras again. Between you and me and the lamppost, I think I know who the winner is.

    Enjoy this beautiful Sunday morning,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

