An Old Leather Bag


While studying in Costa Rica, Central America, I purchased an enticing leather bag at El Caballo Blanco leather shop in the charming town of Moravia, up in the hills surrounding San José, the capital of Costa Rica.  That was way back in 1969.

I still have this bag with me.  In my journey to the mini worlds, I experimented by taking close-up pictures of my dear old leather bag which is about 45 years old.  Here we go.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

These three shot were taken with my loyal P&S Canon PowerShot A720 IS.  Tomorrow I will include more pictures of this leather bag taken with my DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2i camera with  a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 lens II.  You will notice that each camera has its own way of construing reality.  Good Day.

4 thoughts on “An Old Leather Bag”

  1. The best argument for buying good quality leather is how beautifully it ages. I have a friend who still uses her grandfather’s saddle when she rides. It’s not fancy, even though it has a little tooling, but it’s a lovely thing.

  2. Hi Linda:

    There are special oils to treat leather so it will last forever. I didn’t do it, however it aged gracefuly during these past 35 years.

    I reckon the same happened to your friend’s saddle. Good leather is an excellent merchandise to buy. For example, I love my leather Florsheim shoes. They also age gracefully.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

