Preparing My Gear to Understand the Mini Worlds


After scanning the Internet looking for ideas to capture subject with my camera, I found out that I have a tendency towards macro photography.  There are mysterious worlds that the naked eye does not see, therefore, they do not exist.  With the proper equipment, these unseen worlds come to life.

If there is any constant in the world of macro photography, it is this:

“Flowers are like snowflakes, no two are exactly the same when viewed through any combination of close-up photography equipment.  The closer you focus on a given subject, the more that is revealed, and it is with these revelations that the ‘drug’ that is macro photography maintains its constant and unrelenting hold.  You begin to consider adopting a belief in reincarnation or reaffirming your reincarnation beliefs as you soon realize that your appetite, your hunger, your insatiable desire for more ‘intimate encounters’ is truly vast and deep and that there can’t possible be just one lifetime, because I need to come back for more—much more.

The world of close-up photography does serve up a bounty of texture-filled images:  feathers, human skin, animal fur, wood, rocks, sand, leaves, thorns, berries, broken glass, ice, frost, and even pond scum.

It is often the texture within a close-up photograph that awakens our senses the most, whether that texture is ‘felt as soft or hard, rough or smooth, dull or sharp, or hot or cold”—Bryan Peterson, Understanding Close-up Photography

These words were music to my ears.  So I started to look for affordable items I could buy to start my journey to the worlds hidden to us.  My supplier was Amazon.com in the United States.  They have a wide choice of photography merchandise, their customer service is heads and shoulders above most of the suppliers I am aware of, and they accept international credit cards.  A reputable freight forwarder —Aeropost—will receive my merchandise in Miami, Florida and deliver it to Panama City, Panama where I can pick it up at their counter.  It’s a ten-minute drive from my house.

My entry into close-up photograph were a couple of lens manufactured by Vivitar.  The description of the first set of two lens is:  Vivitar 0.43 professional wide-angle HD lens with macro.  The selling price of these lens was $29.48 available at Amazon.com.  Below are several pictures of the photography equipment.

Snapshot of the box containing the small 0.43x professional wide-angle lens with macro marketed by Vivitar. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Another side of the box housing the wide-angle and macro lens from Vivitar. The diameter of the lens is 52mm which fits perfectly with the prime lens of my DSLR camera. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
This is the cute little black vinyl bag which contained the Vivitar lens. I think it was a nice touch of class. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Close up image of the wide-angle converter lens on the top, and the macro lens with red letters on the bottom. They can be screwed together to make one whole unit. In order for the wide-angle lens to work, the macro section must be attached as well. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the slip on cover of the Vivitar set of lens. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the two-lens unit, the slip on cover, and the rear cover of the lens. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

When I tried to separate the macro lens from the wide angle lens, I discovered it was stuck. According to the operations manual, this  lens has a detachable macro part which can be unscrewed.    You just unscrew the macro part of the lens and attach it to your camera to take photos of objects at extremely close range.   I tried for about half and hour without any success.

I contacted Amazon’s Customer Service Department and they promised to send me a replacement lens free of charge.  It should arrive in Panama City, Panama on Wednesday, November 12, 2014.  I was a bit disappointed, but I guess you receive what you pay for.  Crossing my fingers that the replacement device works fine.  Tomorrow I will unpackage a small 2.2x zoom lens, also manufactured by Vivitar.  Let’s see what happens.  Good Day.

Edit:  Today I received from Amazon, the replacement wide-angle/macro lens.  This time it worked well.  I could easily separate both parts of the lens.  Amazon did a fantastic job in handling my claim, that’s why I prefer it as my main and only supplier of purchases in the States.  Omar is happy!

2 thoughts on “Preparing My Gear to Understand the Mini Worlds”

  1. I do like the vinyl bag and apart from the tricky setup, I think the lens will prove useful 🙂 I don’t understand the macro part though, wide angle should be far from a zoom view surely?

  2. I should be receiving the replacement lens next Wednesday and will test it immediately to determine is everything is fine.

    The maro part is another lens that unscrews from the wide-angle lens for close-up pictures. That should also be an interesting experience.

    Keep tuned to the blog and you will take a look at my first pictures with these modest lens.

    Thank you for your comments, Trish.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

